CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2009, 07:29 PM   #1
pseudopod
Expert
Creative Director for Small VFX Studio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 276
Transperancy Maps in Shadow Pass

I have a background set loaded with transparency maps. I really need to have a shadow pass that can cast shadows through the tranny maps, and not just treat them like planes (which obviously cast rectangular shadows).

Is there a work around for this? People must come across this all the time.

Btw, I am using XSI 6.5.

Please help.

Thank you,
__________________
Chris Browne
www.alchemyentertainment.com
 
Old 02-09-2009, 07:32 PM   #2
JDex
First Prime of Anistropic
 
JDex's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Dexter
Lighting/Rendering/Pipeline TD
Freedom
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,594
Post a screeny of the rendertree for one of the objects. There's many ways that transparency maps can be used, so if I see an example of the setup you're facing I can probably recommend some options.

EDIT: On the chance that it's the most simple of setups, simply make a new Empty Pass, on the Objects Partition add an Override on the Surface port of the Materials. Plug a Shadow Shader in to that. Now the shadows will be cast into an Alpha Channel. If you want them to be in the RGB space as well, simply enable the RGB option in the Shadow shader's options.
__________________
JDex
(Sans Gerfuffle)

On a VFX Hiatus

Last edited by JDex : 02-09-2009 at 07:47 PM.
 
Old 02-09-2009, 07:44 PM   #3
pseudopod
Expert
Creative Director for Small VFX Studio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 276
thanks JDex for the quick reply. I am using a mac so frustratingly I can't do a printscreen screen capture.

I will try my best to explain.

I have a bunch of cards in the scene (grids) of grass for example. The texture has an alpha channel that is acting as the transperancy map. The texture is plugged into the transparency of each grind and using the alpha for the transparency map.

What I would like is to be able to have a shadow pass that casts shadows of the blades of grass (as an example) onto the ground as opposed to it looking as a flat plane.

Is there a way for the shadow pass to use the transparency maps from individual objects?
__________________
Chris Browne
www.alchemyentertainment.com
 
Old 02-09-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
JDex
First Prime of Anistropic
 
JDex's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Dexter
Lighting/Rendering/Pipeline TD
Freedom
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,594
See the EDIT I just finished in the previous post. Try that out, and we'll go from there (though I may be a bit delayed as I'm headed to work shortly and will have no XSI to reference).
__________________
JDex
(Sans Gerfuffle)

On a VFX Hiatus
 
Old 02-09-2009, 07:50 PM   #5
pseudopod
Expert
Creative Director for Small VFX Studio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 276
thanks, I'll give it a try!
__________________
Chris Browne
www.alchemyentertainment.com
 
Old 02-10-2009, 09:36 PM   #6
JDex
First Prime of Anistropic
 
JDex's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Dexter
Lighting/Rendering/Pipeline TD
Freedom
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,594
Did that do it for you?
__________________
JDex
(Sans Gerfuffle)

On a VFX Hiatus
 
Old 02-10-2009, 11:17 PM   #7
pseudopod
Expert
Creative Director for Small VFX Studio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 276
I think that will work on an object per object basis, but the problem is we have so many transparency maps throughout the environment that it would be hard to apply this to every object in the scene.

Is there an approach that can cover it for a whole partition of objects with different transparency maps scattered throughout the scene?

Thanks again for your help.
__________________
Chris Browne
www.alchemyentertainment.com
 
Old 02-10-2009, 11:46 PM   #8
JDex
First Prime of Anistropic
 
JDex's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Dexter
Lighting/Rendering/Pipeline TD
Freedom
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,594
Actually the steps I listed should cover every object in the Partition.

The Override is applied to the partition. When you "override" the Surface port of one of the objects in the partition, all objects in the partition should be effected in the same way.
__________________
JDex
(Sans Gerfuffle)

On a VFX Hiatus
 
Old 02-10-2009, 11:46 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.