CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2003, 10:20 AM   #1
dwalden74
Google E. Bear
 
dwalden74's Avatar
David Walden
Rigging, scripting.
NY, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 818
Maya, Cycles and IKFK...

I just wanted to get some feedback about these thoughts...

It seems that the biggest problem in Maya in regards to IKFK and character animation is that the animator always has to switch between IK and FK mode. The reason is that IK and FK cannot exist in Maya contemporaneously (at least in nothing I've discovered so far): In Maya, one either has to animate in IK mode, or in FK mode, and then blend between them. Yuk! This can cause a lot of extra overhead work on the part of the animator who is now forced to pay attention to these technical details; things that can distract from concentrating 100% on the performance of the character, which is the animators job (and joy).

Now, some collegues of mine have told me that other software, for example Messiah (although I personally have not checked it out yet), can indeed handle cycles of this type. Maya animators, imagine this: a system where keying the IK handle actually keys the joints' rotations(not position information), and keying the joints rotations also moves the ikHandle in space. You have the best of both worlds AND no IKFK switching (yeah!). Your keyframes are now always on rotations (which I think most people prefer), but you the option of controlling it via ik position, or fk rotation. It seems that this is how IKFK should really work.

Does anyone know for sure which softwares support functions like this? If I were working at AW it would be something I would invest some serious time in developing for a future Maya release. What do you guys think???


David
__________________
David Walden
Rigging | MEL Scripting | Animation
www.davidwalden.com
 
Old 06-30-2003, 10:58 AM   #2
Rudity
Level 3 Rigamaker
 
Rudity's Avatar
Darren Rudy
Rigging
Electronic Arts, Burnaby
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 667
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58455

Give this thread a read, tonnes of information.
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
 
Old 06-30-2003, 11:19 AM   #3
dwalden74
Google E. Bear
 
dwalden74's Avatar
David Walden
Rigging, scripting.
NY, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 818
Yeah, I've read this thread, but I didn't really discover how the different softwares are getting their results (what's going on under the hood specifically). Also, the whole "no animation curves" discussion sounds a bit far-fetched to me. It would be great to keep anim curves, simply stay in FK mode all the time and just use the IK as a positional guide.

-d
__________________
David Walden
Rigging | MEL Scripting | Animation
www.davidwalden.com
 
Old 06-30-2003, 08:00 PM   #4
nottoshabi
Expert
 
nottoshabi's Avatar
portfolio
Shaby
Character TD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 876
Send a message via MSN to nottoshabi
I have heard of an, none switcheble IKFk arm but I have never seen one done yet.

And I thinck runing ideas by AW is not to good cause every time they come up with a new toy it takes 2 versions of Maya to get it to work right. :thumbsdow
 
Old 06-30-2003, 08:22 PM   #5
Doogie
Mimes have rights too.
 
Doogie's Avatar
Paul Franz
Pipeline TD
Digital Domain
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to Doogie
I also wonder what’s goin on under the hood. Does anyone know about any papers on something like this?? I found a copy of Mirai I can go and play with for a couple hours at a time, but I gotta first learn how to use it before I can figure out how the IK works.

Here's a list of the settings (and defaults) for the IK prefs in Mirai:
  • Close enough Ratio: 0.001
  • Goal Weight: 1.0
  • Weight Importance: 4.0
  • Relax Ratio: 0.0
  • Max number of Iterations: 100
  • Number of Errors Allowed: 15
  • Best Quality: (checkbox off)
To me, they look similar to the fixedLengthCurve prefs in the Maya Plugin (which I never got to work properly )

I'll post more when I learn more about Mirai, learn to set up a rig and get a chance to play w/ it and the settings listed above.

-Paul
__________________
Note: any errors of fact are directly attributable to me not knowing of what I speak
 
Old 01-15-2006, 02:00 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.