CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2008, 11:30 PM   #1
plug3
Frequenter
 
plug3's Avatar
portfolio
fred g
US
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 192
network rendering problem

I've been experiencing problems with network rendering of particles (it is a simple flow) where the particles jump to random position on some frames. It is like some machines use a different seed. It is very random. Not just one machine and not the same everytime. I 've been solving it by caching the particle flow but I am running into memory issues.

Anyone has any insight on this?
Thanks.
 
Old 12-12-2008, 11:54 PM   #2
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by _d1
I've been experiencing problems with network rendering of particles (it is a simple flow) where the particles jump to random position on some frames. It is like some machines use a different seed. It is very random. Not just one machine and not the same everytime. I 've been solving it by caching the particle flow but I am running into memory issues.

Anyone has any insight on this?
Thanks.


Theoretically, different CPUs (like AMD Athlon vs. Intel) and different OS (32 vs. 64 bit) are the typical causes of such problems. If all your machines are running the same version of Windows and 3ds Max on the same type of CPU, I would expect them to produce the same random seeds. No idea what could be causing the problem in your case though, it shouldn't be random...
__________________
Bobo
 
Old 12-13-2008, 08:50 AM   #3
lo
the frequentest!
portfolio
Rotem Shiffman
Tel Aviv, Israel
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,826
I've had this happen many times on identical machines, with the same OS, same cpu etc. In some cases it was solved by increasing integration step accuracy, in others I just had to manually rerender the bad frames on one machine.

No idea what the cause is.
 
Old 12-16-2008, 09:40 PM   #4
plug3
Frequenter
 
plug3's Avatar
portfolio
fred g
US
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 192
Thanks both of you for your help.

I tried increasing the integration step to the max (1 tick) but that didn't help. I thought that might be it since the scale of the max scene is quite small.

I gues I will cache the pFlow and save those gigantic max files :-)
 
Old 12-28-2008, 03:11 PM   #5
daft-crut
3d art-o-holic
 
daft-crut's Avatar
portfolio
Romi Fauzi
3D Artist
South Jakarta, Indonesia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 279
Send a message via MSN to daft-crut Send a message via Yahoo to daft-crut
well if you have particle flow tool box at your disposal, you can use cache to disk, it will simply generates sequenced cache files.
__________________

 
Old 01-05-2009, 09:47 PM   #6
oatz
particle wrangler
Khye Kading
Khye Kading S.P.
Ankeny, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
I've had this problem in the past. Something about the Render Operator or PView Object becoming corrupted. Deleting the top render node and creating a new PFSource and relinking the tree to the new render node solved it for me.

Khye
__________________
Khye Kading
 
Old 01-05-2009, 09:47 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.