Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 06-09-2003, 09:58 PM   #1
d_jnaneswar
Know-it-All

Dwarakanath Jnaneswar Ekkirala
India

basketball dribble

hi guys.

i have a humanoid character and i set up its rig. i want him to dribble a basketball. now how do i go about doing that? do have to keyframe the ball seperately? since i want him to slamdunk it, wont it be too tedious to keyframe the ball to stick to his hand as he jumps and slams?

any related tut will be of great help.

please enlighten.

thanks.

Old 06-09-2003, 10:18 PM   #2
stzaske
Frequenter

We'll I'm no expert here, but I'll explain one scene I animated with a bouncing basketball.

I point constrained the ball to a locator, and then point constrained that locator to three other locators. One in each hand (if you plan on doing any crossover moves) and one one a locator I called "BB_Landing". Then you only need to animate the "BB_Landing" location and then what hand its bouncing back to. I used a separate rotation contraint to control ball rotation, and I animated that later. I used expressions to squish the ball as it reach 0 on the y axis.

A couple things to keep in mind:

1. Create a character with REALLY long arms. I animated a child character and noticed almost immediated that the large ball to child ratio made it extremely hard to dribble because my character could hardly reach the top/center of the basketball. There just wasn't enough extra arm motion to aim the ball and push downwards. Also, since my character was so small, it was extremely hard NOT to dribble on his toes. So I STRONGLY suggest you build a character with REALLY long arms, or at least large compared to the ball.

2. Video tape yourself dribbling. You'd be amazed how much time you spend palming the ball and how much of the time the ball spends at the top of its arc.

Good luck, -=STZ=-

Old 06-10-2003, 04:39 AM   #3
d_jnaneswar
Know-it-All

Dwarakanath Jnaneswar Ekkirala
India

thanks stzaske,