CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2003, 05:55 PM   #1
Joel Hooks
Action Figure
 
Joel Hooks's Avatar
Joel
Forensic Animator
Scientific Analysis Inc.
Fort Worth, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,604
Send a message via ICQ to Joel Hooks Send a message via MSN to Joel Hooks
MaxScript Displayable Stopwatch

Would there be a simple way to make a "stopwatch" that will update a text object as a counter? To put timecode or MIN:SEC type stuff onscreen.
 
Old 06-06-2003, 06:10 PM   #2
Equinoxx
Forum Leader
 
Equinoxx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Yves Adam
3d Designer
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,305
maybe something like this ?

http://maxplugins.de/max4.php?search=time

look for Cuneyt Ozdas' Counter Text
__________________
eqko
 
Old 06-06-2003, 06:21 PM   #3
Joel Hooks
Action Figure
 
Joel Hooks's Avatar
Joel
Forensic Animator
Scientific Analysis Inc.
Fort Worth, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,604
Send a message via ICQ to Joel Hooks Send a message via MSN to Joel Hooks
Counter Text has some formatting issues. It only lets you show max time. I'd like to be able to set an arbitrary start time and have it count in either direction.
 
Old 06-06-2003, 06:34 PM   #4
Equinoxx
Forum Leader
 
Equinoxx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Yves Adam
3d Designer
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,305
yeah i figured as much. I had problems with it myself.

there IS an example for a counter, but that's way to complex for my liking [uses expressions]

i know magicm has a script involving 'animated' text, i'll ask him to have a look here, don't sit on it tho, this week has been a nightmare for the both of us at work [WAY tight deadlines], so give the fellah some time
__________________
eqko
 
Old 06-06-2003, 09:45 PM   #5
Kramsurfer
Don't Know-it-All.
 
Kramsurfer's Avatar
portfolio
Keith R Morrison
Custom Tools Developer
Focus360
San Diego, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 426
Check out this link from cgcharacter.com

http://www.cgcharacter.com/dino2.htm

I think the use of the Ambient Controller may apply to your problem. I've quoted the passage you may find most useful below.

"The third one is real hard as Max does not provide this event message!!! However I worked out a little trick a few years ago to get around this… It turns out that the Ambient Light controller is evaluated during rendering each frame before geometry set-up. So what I do is make the Ambient Light controller a list controller (so you can still set the Ambient Light normally) with the second controller a float_script() controller called "System_Script_trigger". In this script you will add a call to any scripts you want rendered once per frame before geometry set-up… it is effectively generating the system event you need that the Max API does not provide. Here is the single line you have to add to trigger our Neck_control script:"

Script a function to edit text object and put in the ambient controller....

Good Luck

Keith Morrison
 
Old 06-08-2003, 12:11 AM   #6
magicm
Maxscript Generator
 
magicm's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martijn van Herk
VFX Technical Director
Freelance
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,139
nice trick!

 
Old 07-13-2003, 09:55 AM   #7
cozdas
Veteran
 
cozdas's Avatar
Cuneyt Ozdas
Senior Software Engineer
Imagination Technologies Inc.
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 30
Quote:
Counter Text has some formatting issues. It only lets you show max time. I'd like to be able to set an arbitrary start time and have it count in either direction


That's wrong!!!

Actually the max time support was not present in th first version, added afterwards. The clock samples in the zip uses max time, but that's not the only alternative.

Here is a sample file which uses "again max time in seconds" but modifies it. also there are 2 more counter texts bint to sliders. you can simply animate the slider parameter. Keeping the speed at zero the big time will show the animated offset value only. http://www.cuneytozdas.com/temp/counter_sample_max4.zip

Lots of things are possible: Just use simple parameter wirings, expression or script controllers on User Count.

__________________
Cuneyt Ozdas
senior sw engineer
Caustic Graphics


Last edited by cozdas : 07-13-2003 at 10:02 AM.
 
Old 11-19-2003, 11:20 AM   #8
Ian Jones
Design & Technology
 
Ian Jones's Avatar
Ian Jones
Multimedia Technologist
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,219
Hi everyone, I'm reviving this topic becuase I need to use the trick solution Kramsurfer told us about.

The link to the workaround isn't available anymore. Can anyone help me by explaining how this trick works? and also... some sample code would be very helpful to me.

I am very new to MAXscript, so I'd really appreciate any help.
 
Old 11-19-2003, 11:29 AM   #9
Ian Jones
Design & Technology
 
Ian Jones's Avatar
Ian Jones
Multimedia Technologist
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,219
In detail. I'm a newbie and therefore need to know exactly how to:
  • make the Ambient Light controller a list controller with the second controller a float_script() controller called "System_Script_trigger".
  • In this script you will add a call to any scripts you want rendered once per frame before geometry set-up
 
Old 11-19-2003, 12:18 PM   #10
Ian Jones
Design & Technology
 
Ian Jones's Avatar
Ian Jones
Multimedia Technologist
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,219
WOW! it works!

I have no idea how a newb like me managed it, but I actually figured it all out from that paragraph above. Sure took some time though.

I figured out I could:

View dopesheet > assign list controller to ambient lights > assign float script to weight1.

in the float script I put:

function()
0

I hope that helps anyone else who is interested. I now know much more about MAX than I ever intended to! arrrg!

 
Old 11-19-2003, 03:29 PM   #11
Alex Morris
veteran
 
Alex Morris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Alex Morris
Architect and Illustrator
Alex Morris Visualisation
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to Alex Morris
Maybe I'm missing the point, but if this thing is going to get rendered then the stopwatch doesn't want to relate to "system time" it needs to relate to the output frame rate?
__________________
Alex Morris
Architectural Visualisation
www.amv-cgi.com
 
Old 01-15-2006, 09:00 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.