CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2008, 09:38 PM   #1
nasersolona
Veteran
portfolio
Eduardo Serna
Tools Developement & Character Setup
Lightbox Entertainment
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 56
Instance Controller

Hello Guys, I need to instance the ZERO POS XYZ controller from a Freeze-Transformed object to the available controller of the Position List of another Object. And then set the weights.

I´ve beeb trying it all the day with no results, and it´s a bit urgent. Please help!!!

Sorry for my poor English, and thanks.
 
Old 06-02-2008, 12:00 PM   #2
Gravey
3D Dude
Joel Hewitt
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 880
open the track view graph editor, find your first controller, right click on it and choose 'copy'. Then find the available controller you want to paste to, right click on it and choose paste. A dialog will pop up letting your choose copy / instance.
 
Old 06-03-2008, 11:41 AM   #3
nasersolona
Veteran
portfolio
Eduardo Serna
Tools Developement & Character Setup
Lightbox Entertainment
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 56
thanks

thanks Gravey, but i was trying to do it by MaxScript, not by clicking with the mouse. thanks anyway for your help.

I´ve found a solution myself to do it by scripting. If anyone needs ask for it to me.

Thanks Again.
 
Old 06-03-2008, 12:17 PM   #4
Gravey
3D Dude
Joel Hewitt
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 880
oooh sorry i thought this thread was in the general max forum area. -oops! glad you found your answer anyway.
 
Old 06-03-2008, 01:29 PM   #5
decapitator
Veteran
portfolio
Jenne van der Meer
Unemployed :(
Zwolle, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 84
Send a message via MSN to decapitator
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasersolona
thanks Gravey, but i was trying to do it by MaxScript, not by clicking with the mouse. thanks anyway for your help.

I´ve found a solution myself to do it by scripting. If anyone needs ask for it to me.

Thanks Again.
Its also an idea to allways just post the solution when you find it yourself. So that someone who searches doesnt end up in 'useless' threads.
__________________
Love and kisses your cousin Ted.
PS; My thumb hurts...
 
Old 06-03-2008, 02:04 PM   #6
nasersolona
Veteran
portfolio
Eduardo Serna
Tools Developement & Character Setup
Lightbox Entertainment
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 56
ok

you are right, i´ll post the way to instance a controller from one object to another

c = $object01.pos.controller[2].controller
$object02.pos.controller[2].controller = c

controller[2].controller is because the pos controller i had, was a position list and i had to acces to the zero position xyz subcontroller.
 
Old 06-05-2008, 08:31 PM   #7
Guibou
growing
 
Guibou's Avatar
portfolio
Guibou Guillaume Boucher
3D artist / Animator
Les Studios Longtail
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 135
I've used the Pen Attribute Holder often in the last rig i made, so i can save poses of my character wheter it's per limbs or for the entire body.

I had to instance a lot of controllers to a lot of variables. The task was boring and tidious but it worked fine. I'm wondering how you do that by maxscript if you're not copy/pasting Controllers to other Controllers, but to variables instead.

How would you copy let's say the X of your Zero PosXYZ to a specific variable?
Honestly i haven't looked at it yet and i'm still new to maxscript, if any of you guys would have a hint i'd like to know it.

Thanks guys for your time
 
Old 06-05-2008, 08:42 PM   #8
magicm
Maxscript Generator
 
magicm's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martijn van Herk
VFX Technical Director
Freelance
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guibou
How would you copy let's say the X of your Zero PosXYZ to a specific variable?

By variable you mean a scripted controller variable? In case you do, it's as easy as this:

Code:
-- create a new float script controller c = float_script() -- store the X controller of the selected object's Zero PosXYZ c.AddTarget "X_Controller" $.position.controller[2].controller[1].controller -- retrieve the controller's value format "Test : %\n" (c.GetTarget "X_Controller").value


Martijn
 
Old 06-05-2008, 08:42 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.