CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2008, 05:42 PM   #1
Julien Abenhaim
Lumiere VFX
Montreal, Canada
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 92
Send a message via ICQ to Nodixal Send a message via MSN to Nodixal
XSI Animation Layer Question

Hey guys, I exported an animation preset, i was wondering if there is a way to import it back on an animation layer? each time i try only way i can do it is to import it on the base layer.
Julien Abenhaim
Lumiere VFX Studio
Old 06-11-2008, 07:32 PM   #2
Co-Founder / CEO
Thiago Costa
Montreal, Canada
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 398
Layers are nothing else than actions in the animation mixer.
So you can work with layer as you do with Clips in the mixer. To have a layer exported you need to export the layer as an action.

- select the object that has the animation layer.
- open the animation mixer (alt+0)
- you see the layer as a yellow clip, select it
- animate > import/export > export action
- type the name of the eani file (this will behave as an animation clip from now on)

now you open the mixer of the object you wanna apply that layer, and in an empty animation track you right click and "load source from file" and you are done.
Old 06-14-2008, 01:32 PM   #3
The Ninjamurai
shadowedge's Avatar
Jei Vencer
3D CG Artist
Xebec Animation Inc.
Tokyo, Japan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Hey Costa,

useful info bro, thanks!

Since were on the topic, I wanted to post this additional inquiry about sources and referenced models.

You see, in one of my current projects I use a lot of referenced models, and frequently save their actions and re-use the clips for other copies of the ref model.

I've been having trouble tho since I got 6.5. There is this error message saying that it cant re use the clip due to redundancy or something., I'll give a follow up post when I get the exact error message a little later.

But the thing is, this wasn't happening when I was doing it in 6.1 and 6.2. Any ideas?



EDIT: The error message reads "Mixer is currently evaluating - Cycles / Re-entrancy not supported"
Some live, some die
In the name of the Samurai

Last edited by shadowedge : 06-14-2008 at 02:04 PM. Reason: added info
Old 06-14-2008, 08:16 PM   #4
Co-Founder / CEO
Thiago Costa
Montreal, Canada
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 398
I don't think I've ever had it...
6.5 had a lot of bugfixes on deltas. This is probably why you are getting this message in 6.5 and not on 6.0x.

I'm not sure but it sounds like a cycle checking issue.
Check what your delta is twelling the refmodel engine do with clips (for example if you are removing an existing clip and evaluating expressions on the clip at the same time etc...). Also check what you already had in the Mixer of that specific model, to see if theres any conflict or possible error on your delta setup.

Apart from that, if this isn't causing you any trouble, just ignore it.
One thing you should do is export your deltas from time to time. So if in any case your Delta break or stop to work, you can import it back to the stage where it was working.

If this is a big problem, send the scene to support@softimage and they will take care of it.
Old 06-14-2008, 08:16 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.