Pouring juice into a glass

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2008
Question Pouring juice into a glass

Hello,

I am new to the whole dynamics thing. I was curious about -What is the most effective way in Maya 8.0 to show juice pouring into a glass?

Thanks

Dan

05 May 2008
Hi Dan,

Believe it or not Maya isnt the best software for pouring liquids, in fact for super realism its awful! You can fake it using blobby particles or you can try with maya fluids both these methods give you 'good' results but nothing that would hold up under scrutiny.

For realistic results there are a bunch of liquid software like Realflow comes to mind. If you are interested in learning to pour liquids, Id recommend learning one of these instead.

05 May 2008
Smile

Originally Posted by Aikiman: Hi Dan,

Believe it or not Maya isnt the best software for pouring liquids, in fact for super realism its awful! You can fake it using blobby particles or you can try with maya fluids both these methods give you 'good' results but nothing that would hold up under scrutiny.

For realistic results there are a bunch of liquid software like Realflow comes to mind. If you are interested in learning to pour liquids, Id recommend learning one of these instead.

Do you work for realflow? I have seen a lot of threads with you talking about how good realflow is. I would eventually like to get a hold of realflow, but the problem is- I dont have any extra money to get realflow, so I have to work with what I have which is Maya 8 complete. Do you have any advice or know of any tutorials on using maya to get the good results?

Thanks

05 May 2008
realflow is really good. use the personal learning edition.

it allows you to export your files into maya so you can then render it out, or play around a bit more with it.

i use realflow for all my liquid.