CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2003, 11:24 AM   #1
zurfer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 144
$.visibility = 1 Not working

IŽm setting up a Replacement Animation in Max5 but I cant get it to work.
When I use $.visibility = 0 it works great, but $.visibility = 1 it doesnŽt show the object, it hides it, just like = 0.

Does anyone have any idea why and how I can make it work?

Old 05-16-2003, 12:04 PM   #2
Borja Morales
QA & Support Engineer
Fabric Software
Madrid, Espańa
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 679
From maxscript help:

<node>.visibility Boolean default: true -- animatable

This is a boolean property (unlike its value as a signed float in the 3ds max Track View) - true or on denotes visible, false or off invisible. Animate this property to control an node's visibility at render-time,

By default, there is no controller assigned to the visibility track. Accessing the .controller property of the visibility track will throw an error. In order to be able to add keys and manipulate them, there must be a controller assigned. Animating the property as shown above will force 3ds max to assign a controller automatically. You can also assign a controller manually to the .visibility property:

for example:

--assigns a controller:

$foo.visibility = bezier_float()

--set the current value to semi-visible:

$foo.visibility.controller.value = 0.5

--animate the value to 0 on frame 100

animate on at time 100 $foo.visibility.controller.value = 0.0
So, i suppose you have animated visibility and visibility track has a controller assigned(if not assign one from dope sheet or animate the visibility to create a default controller). Then Just use
Borja Morales

Last edited by Reality3D : 05-16-2003 at 12:08 PM.
Old 05-16-2003, 12:20 PM   #3
zurfer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 144

Thanks! IŽll try that.
Old 05-16-2003, 02:03 PM   #4
zurfer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 144
Thanks it workt

I used

$.visibility = true


$.visibility = False

And then it work greate, odd that the ScriptLisener shows 0 and 1 when it dosent realy work.

Thank you wery mutch for yor help.

MVH Andreas
Old 05-16-2003, 02:34 PM   #5
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 50
Send a message via ICQ to Smay
$.visibility = off / on works pretty well, too
Old 01-15-2006, 05:03 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.