Chunks birth script : how to create chunks every nth frame

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2008   #1
Chunks birth script : how to create chunks every nth frame

This is my first attempt at scripting particles so please excuse my confusion.

How do I adapt the chunk script (below) so that instead of creating all the particles at frame 0 (t<0), the particles are birthed every nth frame.

I assume I need to change the "if t < 0 do" to something like "for t=0 to numChunks by x" where x is the number of frames I want between each particle being birthed. Or am I, as I suspect, barking up the wrong tree?

Code:
on ChannelsUsed pCont do ( pCont.useTime = true --enable the Time channel pCont.useAge = true pCont.useTM = true pCont.useShape = true ) on Init pCont do ( global ChunksArray = $parts* as array ) on Proceed pCont do ( t = pCont.getTimeStart() as float if t < 0 do ( NumChunks = ChunksArray.count for i = 1 to NumChunks do ( pCont.AddParticle() pCont.particleIndex = pCont.NumParticles() pCont.particleAge = 0 pCont.particleTM = ChunksArray[i].transform pCont.particleShape = ChunksArray[i].mesh ) ) ) on Release pCont do ( )
, the spreadsheet editor for 3ds Max

Old 04 April 2008   #2
Ok, managed to suss it out.

Code:
on ChannelsUsed pCont do ( pCont.useTime = true --enable the Time channel pCont.useAge = true pCont.useTM = true pCont.useShape = true ) on Init pCont do ( global ChunksArray = $parts* as array ) on Proceed pCont do ( t = pCont.getTimeStart() as float if t > 0 do ( NumChunks = ChunksArray.count tt = ((t/160)+1) pCont.AddParticle() pCont.particleIndex = pCont.NumParticles() pCont.particleAge = 0 pCont.particleTM = ChunksArray[tt].transform pCont.particleShape = ChunksArray[tt].mesh --pCont.particleOrientation = [0,0,0] pCont.particleOrientation += [90,0,0] ) ) on Release pCont do ( )

Old 05 May 2008   #3
Thumbs up

Thanks for posting the code.