CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2008, 11:30 PM   #1
ladalian
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Boolean issues

I have just tried to make a simple mug object by using the boolean tool to join the handle and the mug together but get some crazy creases in the geometry where the handle joins the mug.

What am I doing wrong????

I have also uploaded the file.

Thanks heaps

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 1.jpg (17.8 KB, 45 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip mug.c4d.zip (286.1 KB, 1 views)
 
Old 04-22-2008, 12:08 AM   #2
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,606
JMO.

Something like this would better be done by extruding
polys for the handle and using the bridge tool for the final join.

Boolean is really a destructive rather than a constructive process.
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 04-22-2008, 01:07 AM   #3
LemonNado
Head Lopygon
 
LemonNado's Avatar
portfolio
Rainer Maria Schmidt
Boss
Complex Consulting
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,206
Yup... the generated meshes by boolean operations are often not what you expect. Try to tweak the options and use comparably low res meshes so you can bend things manually. Or use a nurbs modeler like moi3d for that. Any case, you handle is much easier constructed manually.
Rainer
 
Old 04-22-2008, 02:21 AM   #4
ladalian
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks Guys
 
Old 04-22-2008, 12:38 PM   #5
LemonNado
Head Lopygon
 
LemonNado's Avatar
portfolio
Rainer Maria Schmidt
Boss
Complex Consulting
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,206
Intersecting geometric bodies is always difficult. Here is a cool link to the matter:
http://www.3d-meier.de/tut9/Seite0.html
If you can't read German just look at the math and the images and you quickly get an idea why booleans have a hard time doing operations like this completely automatic with the results you expect.
Rainer
 
Old 04-22-2008, 07:52 PM   #6
ladalian
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
Thanks for the link
 
Old 04-22-2008, 07:52 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.