CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2002, 12:48 PM   #1
Chappo
Full Time Superman
 
Chappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 377
polygon stuff

When doing polygon modeling it's inevitable to do it without using the Split polygon tool... what i'm asking is.....are there any plugin /scripts for Advanced split polygon tool options ?


For example, i want to do this next thing.

Let's say you have modeled a very weird looking cylinder and you want to split the polygon all around without having to select edge to edge to edge to edge (all the way around the cylinder).
What i have seen in some tutorial vids, on the modeling subject, people just select a point on an edge and directly there is a projected outline all the way around the model where the cut will take place...

Is this possible in Maya ?

Or any other helpfull polygon modeling methods, techniques, ways are more then welcome
thanks
 
Old 01-10-2002, 04:48 PM   #2
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
download the new poly toolkit pack from www.aliaswavefront.com

it adds what you are looking for to the polygon menu.


A|i
 
Old 01-11-2002, 03:42 PM   #3
Chappo
Full Time Superman
 
Chappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 377
Many thanks

P.s. still waiting for you to animate your icon Sheep Factory !
 
Old 01-11-2002, 07:19 PM   #4
Chappo
Full Time Superman
 
Chappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 377
Okay, i downloaded those toolkit packs, but here is the prob.

HOW DO I INSTALL THOSE THINGS ????
there ain't any explanations on the site and also no guides in the zipfiles.....
 
Old 01-11-2002, 09:32 PM   #5
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
put the mel scripts in your scripts folder generally c:\my documents\maya\4.0\scripts

put the mll files in the c:\aw\maya4.0\bin\plugin directory

put the AEtemplate files in c:\aw\maya4.0\scripts\AEtemplates

put the xpm files in the c:\aw\maya4.0\icons folder

go to the plugin manager and load it

hope that helps
 
Old 01-12-2002, 09:14 AM   #6
Chappo
Full Time Superman
 
Chappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 377
Thanks Sheep Factory.... sure did help


Now what i found out is this....what i wanted to do with polygon modeling is something called "EDGE LOOP"

anyone know where i can find this tool ?? the manual doesn't give me much information about this
 
Old 01-12-2002, 06:11 PM   #7
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
i am not sure if we have that tool :(( ,

if you find it let me know

A|i
 
Old 01-12-2002, 06:35 PM   #8
Chappo
Full Time Superman
 
Chappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 377
That is strange then.... surely there must be something ...or is it under another name ?

i've seen tutorial vids from mirai and max and i noticed that when modeling bodies for example , the edge loop comes very much so in handy...
instead of just going from edge to edge with split polygon tool - around the model.
 
Old 01-12-2002, 09:10 PM   #9
dave_baer
Artist In Motion
 
dave_baer's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Baer
Professor of 3D Animation
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, US
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 341
or... you could simply go POLYGONS / SELECT / SELECT CONTIGUOUS EDGES.

This will select all edges on the same line as the first edge that u select.
 
Old 01-12-2002, 11:04 PM   #10
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
if i am not wrong we are talking about making edges not selecting them , am i wrong?
 
Old 01-13-2002, 04:59 AM   #11
Dan Dixon
Visual Effects Artist
 
Dan Dixon's Avatar
Modeling, Post
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 178
sheep factory

thank you you don,t now how long I've be looking for a tool like that. not as good as lightwaves yet but a good start.
 
Old 01-13-2002, 05:45 AM   #12
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
yep ,

do you guys have this problem?

sometimes when i select the cut faces tool in the interactive mode it deselects the faces and doesnt cut them at all. drives me nuts sometimes :(

still this tool is better than nothing

i wish somebody writes a connect faces scripts like the bridge function in softimage xsi

A|i
 
Old 01-14-2002, 12:17 PM   #13
Squash&Strech
Frequenter
 
Squash&Strech's Avatar
J
Freelance
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 143
edge loops are Mirai Specific, not in MAYA sorry
 
Old 01-14-2002, 10:37 PM   #14
noxy
collision object
 
noxy's Avatar
portfolio
Jonathan Block
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 227
There is a plugin called face path split, which is one of the new poly tools, it kind of does an edgeloop split when I can get the damn thing to work. I usually have to drag over a face and corresponding edge several times before it functions. I know that several programs have brought Mirai functionality in via plugins or scripts. Max has meshtools and Maya has the Xumi stuff which I've heard is great but can't get past the interface modifications to want to use it. At least AW is paying attention to polys these days.

Noxy
 
Old 01-14-2002, 10:46 PM   #15
Dan Dixon
Visual Effects Artist
 
Dan Dixon's Avatar
Modeling, Post
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 178
the xumi stuff is a bit sketchy and I don't recomend using xumi's interface plungins They just cluter up your interface. but only my oppinion . path split Ican only get to work on poly faces that face your cammera. but downloaded the one sheep factory show , very nice
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.