CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2008, 07:11 PM   #1
th3ta
Veteran
 
th3ta's Avatar
portfolio
3d Artist
In a dark office, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 739
Emitting omni lights from a particle system

anyone have any ideas on how to achieve this?
 
Old 03-06-2008, 10:08 PM   #2
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Psychosilence has a cool script operator that assigns an already created lights to each particle.

IE if you have ten omni lights it will assign those ten omni lights to the first ten particles.

HERE

You'll have to either rename your lights or modify the script.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~

Last edited by JohnnyRandom : 03-07-2008 at 05:16 PM. Reason: Clarification
 
Old 03-06-2008, 10:57 PM   #3
th3ta
Veteran
 
th3ta's Avatar
portfolio
3d Artist
In a dark office, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 739
Awesome, that's exactly what I wanted to do.

However, now I have a follow-up question.

When I try to export the position of the light, it's showing up at the same starting position for every frame, ( which happens to be where the PF emitter is located). Now, I'm assuming this is the case because the position of the light is being handled through Particle Flow.

So my next question is how do I get the world XYZ position of the light to export properly?

Thanks guys.
 
Old 03-06-2008, 11:34 PM   #4
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
I am a little dense today, So I am having a little difficulty understanding what you are asking.

Not sure what you mean by "export the position". Do you want the position data for use in a scripted operator?

Or a different birth position for each light? As in you change you position icon to a box or sphere and change the location to volume. Or use a non-renderable position object and select verts, edges, or faces.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 03-07-2008, 03:41 PM   #5
th3ta
Veteran
 
th3ta's Avatar
portfolio
3d Artist
In a dark office, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 739
Well, I want to export the position data of the lights to use in After Effects. I've tried it using the plug-in Max2Ae. Using the export function, as well as the save to .txt file, where it just saves out the position data for every frame of an object.

In both scenarios, it has the birth position for every frame, and not the actual position of the lights. I guess it's just because it's looking at the position of the emitter, and doesnt keep track of each particles true position in world space.

Hope that kinda clears things up, and thanks for your help so far.
 
Old 03-07-2008, 07:37 PM   #6
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Sorry I have never used Max2ae. You may want to ask the developer.

If it gathers all of the object position data per frame, then the lights positions per frame should be recorded to, I would think. The Omni light is still an Omni light as far as max sees it.

Playing around: THis will print each omni lights position, each frame to the listener window.
Code:
rollout LightPos "Print Light Position" ( button doit "Process Scene" progressbar doit_prog color:yellow on doit pressed do ( t = animationRange.end + 1f a = t.frame as integer light_array = lights as array sliderTime = animationRange.start format "Current Frame:% \n" currentTime Print light_array select lights for i = 1 to a do ( doit_prog.value = 100.*i/a sliderTime = currentTime + 1f p = light_array format "Current Frame:% \n" currentTime print p ) ) ) createDialog LightPos 200 60
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~

Last edited by JohnnyRandom : 03-07-2008 at 07:52 PM.
 
Old 03-10-2008, 04:46 PM   #7
th3ta
Veteran
 
th3ta's Avatar
portfolio
3d Artist
In a dark office, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 739
I'm having a little trouble getting this script to work. I'll admit I'm not that fmailiar with scripting and programming, so forgive me.

I inserted a new Script Operater in the particle flow and pasted that script in there. Was that the correct way to do that?

I'm also getting an error

-- MaxScript Error
-- Syntax error: at rollout, expected tool clause:
-- In line: rollout L

I don't really know waht that means, or how to fix it.
 
Old 03-10-2008, 05:30 PM   #8
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
The script I posted is just a regular maxscript. Go the maxscript menu and create a new maxscript, then copy/paste the what I posted to the blank maxscript. Then just evaluate the script (maxscript window, tools menu>evaluate) or save/run it.

A little dialog should popup and have a button on it that says "process scene" when you hit the button it will evaulate each lights position, print the frame number and the result in the maxscript listener window (hit the F11 key to open the listener then you must enable the maxscript listener via macrorecorder menu>enable)
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 03-10-2008, 06:28 PM   #9
th3ta
Veteran
 
th3ta's Avatar
portfolio
3d Artist
In a dark office, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 739
oh wow, yeah that worked great. it displayed all the correct position data for the lights. Now I just have to get it in a format that Ae can read.

Thanks for all the help!
 
Old 03-10-2008, 06:28 PM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.