CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Programming
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2003, 11:07 AM   #1
Viekoslav
Veteran
 
Viekoslav's Avatar
Vieko Franetovic
Game Maker
SuperUnknown
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to Viekoslav Send a message via Yahoo to Viekoslav
Selection Convertion

Howdy,

Is it possible to convert a subdiv component selection into a polygon component selection?

Is this a native-2-maya feature I'm failing to find? or could it be done with MEL?



Regards,



Viekoslav
__________________
Vieko Franetovic
http://www.mantaraycreative.com/
 
Old 04-26-2003, 11:35 AM   #2
ROPA
Frequenter
 
ROPA's Avatar
portfolio
Karol Zakrzewski
Poland
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 192
WHat U mean ? subdivision to polygon ??

If U working on Sub U dont have polygon ..
Better explain what U want to do
...
 
Old 04-26-2003, 06:13 PM   #3
Viekoslav
Veteran
 
Viekoslav's Avatar
Vieko Franetovic
Game Maker
SuperUnknown
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to Viekoslav Send a message via Yahoo to Viekoslav
Quote:
Originally posted by Argail
WHat U mean ? subdivision to polygon ??

If U working on Sub U dont have polygon ..
Better explain what U want to do
...


Ok...let me try this again,

When working with subDs, you can switch between Standard and Polygon Mode. is it possible to keep the selection of vertices/faces/edges from one mode when you switch into the other?
__________________
Vieko Franetovic
http://www.mantaraycreative.com/
 
Old 04-26-2003, 06:34 PM   #4
X-Tender
Who's Your Daddy!?
 
X-Tender's Avatar
Leveldesigner, 2D/3D Artist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to X-Tender Send a message via AIM to X-Tender
Yes it is possible .. but first i must write the script for it =) .. or someone know an another solution ...
__________________
| xt_textureStudio | xt_prefabLibrary |xt_normalis | Get it @ Fuchtelworld V.3 |
 
Old 04-27-2003, 01:45 AM   #5
Viekoslav
Veteran
 
Viekoslav's Avatar
Vieko Franetovic
Game Maker
SuperUnknown
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 45
Send a message via MSN to Viekoslav Send a message via Yahoo to Viekoslav
Quote:
Originally posted by X-Tender
Yes it is possible .. but first i must write the script for it =) .. or someone know an another solution ...


Well ... I guess is time for me to start learning MEL.
__________________
Vieko Franetovic
http://www.mantaraycreative.com/
 
Old 04-27-2003, 02:45 PM   #6
ROPA
Frequenter
 
ROPA's Avatar
portfolio
Karol Zakrzewski
Poland
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 192
yes i know but i'm still saing that those are two different ways to do because even if U change to pollygons ,topology of objec is cheanging so it will never be exact conversion to polygons control
Same happend when U chcnge to pollygon mode
 
Old 01-15-2006, 12:00 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.