ae ram preview

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2007   #1
ae ram preview

i was wondering, cause i'm new to ae and premiere cs3
i'm trying to add effects in ae but with the ram preview taking so long each time u add an effect how do you save it so that ram preview is saved as well. because i'm also wondering how motiongraphers time their effect to the music. its pretty easy using premiere but i have no idea in ae. especially with ram preview taking so long everytime you do it and no cutting of clips

sorry about the newbie question. i'm really exited to get started on this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks for your time

Old 11 November 2007   #2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccnicco48
i'm trying to add effects in ae but with the ram preview taking so long each time u add an effect how do you save it so that ram preview is saved as well.

You can't really "save" RAM previews. Every time you add or modify a layer or effect, or load a saved project, it essentially flushes your RAM cache and starts over, and that's just the reality of working with After Effects unfortunately. How much RAM do you have in your machine? AE RAM previews consume a lot of memory, and you should really have 3GB RAM or more. Either way, make sure you have Disc Cache enabled in the preferences, and point the Disc Cache to a drive other than your main hard drive. The other way to handle this is to minimize the number of RAM previews you must do while working. After a while, you will get better at doing a larger number of tasks before previewing, then adjusting to taste.

Quote:
because i'm also wondering how motiongraphers time their effect to the music. its pretty easy using premiere but i have no idea in ae.