portfolio
Sergio Arístides Rosa
Animator & TD
DO Studio
El Salvador

Send a message via MSN to nemirc
Red face Advanced (sort of) character Rig - muscle and fat simulation

Hello there.

I made this little something a couple of weeks ago.
Well, as a matter of fact I've been working on this little project for about two monts and I've reached a conclussion.

The proof of concept:
Basically I made a muscular system that would behave "nicely" and "realistically". It worked (I used dynamics) very nice.
Step number two: skin.
What can I say.. do you have a powerful computer?
I have a Athlon 1.4GHz and 512Mb RAM and it was impossible to animate the character. The muscle deformations take around 10 seconds to calculate (per joint rotation) since I have the "use components" setting turned on in the SkinCluster node.

I am sure there is a way to optimize the simulation but I am not a developer (I made this by using simple Maya dynamics and standard Maya tools) so I don't know how the -expletive deleted- it can be done.

Any ideas on how I can improve the performance???

Disclaimer: My opinions are not those of my employer

Old 04-14-2003, 02:47 AM   #2
gmask
Obfuscator

gmask
Power Sitting
Topanga, USA

I think normally you would not try to animate with the muscles turned on but rather hide them and animate the character then run the dynamic simulation.

Supposedly the dynamics in Maya 5 have be sped up %90 on windows but still I would imagine that is too slow to work with such a system any where near realtime.

Old 04-14-2003, 03:47 AM   #3
keithlango
Just makin' animation

Keith Lango
Animator, Director, teacher
Valve Software
USA

Yeah, the general solution is to have two versions of your character.