First time 2D Painting

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 10 October 2007   #1
First time 2D Painting

First I must introduce myself as this is my first post. I have come out of hiding and observing the fantastic work over the years, and I have decided to seek out the opinions and assistance of the many professionals and other hobbyists here. I am a Student at Andrews University aqcuiring a degree in the Bachelor of Fine Arts: Multimedia Arts. Primarily I enjoy 3D work (and will always be learning), but recently I bought a Digital Tablet and Pen and am now venturing into Photorealistic paintings. With that said, this is my first attempt at a piece, still very much a Work in Progress. Please--any comments and critiques would be kindly appreciated.

- Mikel

Old 10 October 2007   #2
Thumbs up

Pretty cool stuff. Good to see you're getting started somewhere. I too just started actually posting my tablet stuff on here. Did you use photoreference for this? It looks really accurate to the human form. Once you go in and add some more values, I'm sure it will look even better. Keep it up.

Old 10 October 2007   #3
Thank you kindly for the reply, it is encouraging--I was beginning to wonder if it was really that bad :( . To answer your question, yes I am working off of a photographic reference. I've never done drawing really of any sort like this especially on the computer, so I'm afraid to do the face. Though I suppose it's all about diving right in, after careful study that is, right?

Old 10 October 2007   #4