CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
wheelie
Veteran
portfolio
wforl somone
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
text selection replace

Imfind that visual studios text selction word replace is very handy, is there any plugns that will apply this feature to MAxScript?


As in, when you use replace (cntrl + H), it only finds and replaces the words in the text you have highlighted.
 
Old 10-03-2007, 08:29 PM   #2
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,637
That is built in to Maxscript. If you want it to replace all instances Use "Replace All" instead of "Replace". Also, if it is selecting words that have a portion of the find word in it, make sure you check "Match whole word only". The top line in the Replace Tool (ctrl + H, Edit > Replace) is for what you want replaced, the bottom line is for the new text. Am I missing something?

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 10-04-2007, 07:24 AM   #3
wheelie
Veteran
portfolio
wforl somone
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
The problem is that it is replacing words in the whole of my MaxScipt, i only want it to work on the block of code that i have highlighted, but despite highlighting the code that i want changed.

It still replaces instances in all of the code.

for exmaple i may have 100 lines of code, but i only want to apply the find and replace tool to say lines 38 to 45. I cant seem to find a way of doing this
 
Old 10-04-2007, 03:33 PM   #4
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,637
I believe this will be part of the new Maxscript ProEditor in Max 2008. Also, there are numerous freeware programs like PSPad that have this and can execute scripts inside max using the MXSCom by Rezn8.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 10-04-2007, 03:33 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.