CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Adobe Photoshop and Corel Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2002, 02:28 PM   #1
vanilla rice
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1
multi-channel to tif

hi.

i have an 8 channeled psd file (1 layer) that looks perfect when all channels are selected. however it always defaults to the first channel in greyscale mode when opened. what i'd like to do is save it as a tif (either cmyk or rgb) with all eight original channels represented. i've tried [save as] but this doesn't work, nor does doing a mode change.

please help!

than
 
Old 01-27-2002, 02:13 AM   #2
studiomiguel
3d Artist
 
studiomiguel's Avatar
portfolio
Michael McClain
Illustrator and 3d artist
ImageTap
Dallas, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 471
The sad news

I work extensively with spot channels.. often 10-15 colors per image for clients in the advertiing industry. The sad news about having a great look spot color image and needing a cmyk or even rgb is that there is no conversion method that will move your channels into the cmyk realm.
Here's how to get your doc to the mode you need:
First of all, you need to change the docment mode to cmyk.
Each of the following steps will have to be completed for each channel you have in the document.
1) Load a channel as a selection.
2) create a new layer and name it whatever the channel was named (for organizational purposes on larger documents this is imperitive)
3) Make your fill color the exact same fill color as the spot channel. You can find out what the fill color is for the spot channel by double-clicking on the channel itself.
4) Fill the layer with the color you have just chosen.
5) Set the layer mode to multiply.
6) Delete the spot channel and move to the next one.
If you do this for all of your spot channels you should have an exact match (or at least a reasonable facsimilie) of your spot color document that you can convert to rgb if you choose to.
If for some reason this doesn't work, let me know. I don't think I have forgotten any steps but you never know.
Ciao,
Michael
 
Old 01-13-2006, 01:26 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.