CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2002, 12:03 AM   #1
Supaflex BattleAxe
Jann-Lee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 65
Arrow A newb question

Hey all,

i'm about to purchase a Miro Studio DC10+ video capture card for my parents their old Hi-8 cam (analog) (which is gonna be mine hehe).

Now i was wondering, can i do cool stuff with it?
Like can i film stuff and add my own Maya models to the film? (would be wicked:P).

Or am i limited to what the gvin software gives me for effects.
So to make a loong story short,
what exactly is possible?

All knowledge, leads to self-knowledge
Old 04-09-2002, 06:43 AM   #2
CG Talk Fan
shadow's Avatar
Wouter van Gestel
Editor / Designer
Veldhoven, Netherlands
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 248
Send a message via MSN to shadow
I also have the DC10+ and you can do whatever you would like with it but not with that crappy Studio Software thats bundled with it.

When you have the DC10+ installed, you have a special DC10+ hardware codec that you can use. So when you export your movie in any videoprogram do it in this codec (check your manual for resolutions and other settings) Then import it into Studio and export it to tape.

I don't use the DC10+ anymore, because I use Windows XP and Pinnacle Systems still has no drivers for XP. And also because I'm using firewire for export now.
Old 04-09-2002, 03:06 PM   #3
Supaflex BattleAxe
Jann-Lee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 65
damn, i have XP. I didnt know it didnt run with it. (its ordered allready though)
All knowledge, leads to self-knowledge
Old 04-11-2002, 09:46 PM   #4
Supaflex BattleAxe
Jann-Lee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 65
btw, there are some XP drivers for Pinnacle.
Its some work but they are there and they work!

thanks for the help!

(btw any sites regarding basic videocapturing tips guides etc?)
All knowledge, leads to self-knowledge
Old 04-20-2002, 03:28 PM   #5
henry's Avatar
Graphics designer (as if)
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 228
hey Jean-Lee i'm into after effects for a long time now, and visual effects in general and the one imortant tip i can offer you is, if you're gonna add one of those 3d models you did make sure you put the camera on a stable place and use as little motion in the camera as possible if you have to move it, beacuse later on you'll have to go deeper to tracking etc etc which are a real pain in the ass..

as for sites with tips try
yet if hope has flown away in a night or in a day in a vision or in none is it therefore the less gone? all that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream..::edgar allan poe
Old 01-13-2006, 04:00 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.