Old 08-29-2007, 02:14 AM   #1
Signal2Noise
Recession-proof.

portfolio
Stephen G Ashby
Engineering Design Visualization
Loc: 51° 05' N, 114° 05' W, Canada

Dual Core Vs. Single Core

Hey all. I'm currently doing some googlin' to find an answer but will post here as well in the event of getting a response quicker.

I'm looking for a comparison or equivalency chart of dual core versus single core processors. For example, what would a single core 3.5 GHz equate to in a dual core set up? Is there a general rule of thumb for the performance factor? I came across something that mentions a dual 2.8 will be as a fast as a single 3.8.

I'm new to this whole dual/quad core scene and want to have some sort of baseline when building a new system based on particular software hardware requirements.

Hope this makes sense and thanks in advance for reading and possibly responding.

Listen: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Old 08-29-2007, 06:48 AM   #2
jcbray
Lord of the posts

1.8, give or take, is a decent way to measure it. so a dual-core processor will render a scene 1.8 times faster - roughly spoeaking anwyays, it's depends on the program. Sunsequently, a quad core is roughly 1.8 times faster than a dual-core.

However, this speed difference doesn't apply across the board. 1.8 is a good number for rendering, which is very optimised for multiple threads.

Oblivion (a computer game) see's about a 20% improvement with the addition of a second core, I havn't seen anything about quad, but guessing it's 0. That game would see greater benefit for a faster single core, rather then two slower dual-cores.

EDIT: That 1.8 rule levels out at about 4, most especially for Intel cpu's, where after 4, the FSB starts to beocme a real bottleneck - AMD's scale a lot better, but still, as more core's are added, the overall benefit starts to decrease.

Old 08-29-2007, 07:18 AM   #3
salmonmoose
Moose Administrator

portfolio
Anton Fletcher
Gluing captions to cats
Ballistic Media
Australia