CGTalk > Main Forums > Education
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 08-10-2007, 08:11 PM   #1
TerribleOne
Veteran
portfolio
Kevin Harington
Menlo Park, USA

Wanting to go to DeVry University.

Hey guys I just graduated high school, and am wanting to pursue and education in 3-D modeling for games. I always wanted to work in the gaming industry ever since I started playing the playstation one. I once worked on a mod team for Quake 3 :arena and had a blast doing it. Granted it was hard work and didn't really finish it

I've seen some schools advertised on TV that caught my attention. I was looking at DeVry University or the Katherine Gibbs School. Both look like they have very good programs, based on the commercial. A lot of the work looked good. It was really hard to find examples online of student work though.

Has anyone attended either of these 2 schools. It hard for me to decide because the student work i've seen is about the same for each school. How do these 2 schools compare to other schools? I haven't researched too many other schools. I think I just need to up and choose one of these, as they both seem to offer good real world education.

Old 08-10-2007, 11:40 PM   #2
CelticArtist
waterholic
portfolio
Justin Diamond
Modeler
Los Angeles, USA

I don't know your personal situation, but I usually (barring the Acadamy of Art in SF) make it my policy to never go to a school that has a commercial. I went to SCAD 99-03 and it's a good school, Ringling, VFS, etc. etc. all have benefits. It's my understanding that DeVry is a purely technical school, they'll teach you the software, but not the art, that's fine, but in reality, you can do that on your own.