CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2003, 04:59 AM   #1
magilla
guerilla
 
magilla's Avatar
portfolio
Cameron Crichton
Director
SubZero Media Productions
Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 454
Alpha maps and z-buffer depth maps

Geometry with alpha maps are not included in the depth channel?

Apart from tricky comping of alpha into depth map - does anyone know of a way to get these to render into the z-channel?

--magilla
 
Old 03-25-2003, 11:00 AM   #2
Toby W. Allen
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
As far as I know, you enable the Z-buffer and save the images as a TGA (TARGA) and you should be able to get the alpha of the image.

Prolly not what you're lookign for though,
Toby.
 
Old 03-25-2003, 07:39 PM   #3
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,538
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
I'm guessing your refering to transparency from a map on a model? No Z does not recognize transparency, only geometry. Thats why stuff like fur and paintfx has trouble with rendering behind transparent objects. Use a fake Z shader instead of the real thing. Then you get other benefits like antialiased Z.
__________________
-deke
 
Old 03-25-2003, 10:24 PM   #4
pixho
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 57
Hey,

Actually, Zdepth maps can be rendered with transparency, just make sure you select furthest distance (facing normals to cam) and set the transparency treshold to 1.

This way you'll get transparency in your z buffer, and can make (for ex) transparent shadows with dmaps...


Emmanuel
__________________
Emmanuel Campin
Infographiste 3d - Maya
www.pixho.com
pixho@pixho.com
 
Old 03-25-2003, 11:01 PM   #5
magilla
guerilla
 
magilla's Avatar
portfolio
Cameron Crichton
Director
SubZero Media Productions
Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 454
Beaker - you're on the right track - I was hoping I wouldn't have to mess around with this, being an animator and not generally dealing with this stuff, it's a steep learning curve.

Is it a difficult process to convert all geom to the one shader?

(wishful thinking) anyone got a link to a mel that converts all shaders to grey etc....?

pixho - your method is intriguing yet vague! Care to shed a bit more light on this process.

thanks all for the replies.

--magilla
 
Old 01-14-2006, 06:00 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.