CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2007, 11:25 AM   #1
cubiclegangster
Expert
portfolio
Neil Griffiths
Miami, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to cubiclegangster
Fragment/particle positioning issue

Ive got a series of objects (a massive amount of cubes making up a shape), and I wanted to spawn particles and link one particle to each object - I'm fine with what I'm doing with the particles themselves, its just getting them to link properly which is causing me problems.

My particles assign to the objects fine, theyre in the correct positions, but when I display the object that theyre attached to theyre all twice the distance they should be from a center point which shouldnt even be being used anymore...

Here's an screen to show what I mean:
Yellow = the particle objects, coloured ones are my original fragments. The particles themselves sit on the pivot point of the original objects.

Any ideas?
 
Old 06-13-2007, 05:41 PM   #2
Wicked
Frequenter
portfolio
Yakup Yigit
VFX
wanna do VFX :P
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 229
Send a message via ICQ to Wicked Send a message via MSN to Wicked Send a message via Yahoo to Wicked
I assume you're using a (birth)script to make particles take the same position as the objects/fragments..?

I also had similar problems. This is what I did:
- Make sure you don't have a "position object" or "position icon" in your flow (something that I cracked my head about, several times )
- center the pivot to the center of the fragments (not necessary)
- reset the fragments by using "Reset XForm"

You might to "evaluate" the script again if you perform changes to the fragments, after you've build the particle flow. Or use an "Cache-operator"
 
Old 06-14-2007, 11:48 AM   #3
cubiclegangster
Expert
portfolio
Neil Griffiths
Miami, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to cubiclegangster
Sorted, it was the xform thing, thanks wicked
 
Old 06-14-2007, 11:48 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.