CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2003, 04:05 PM   #1
uschi
Frequenter
hobby
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 131
Best network rendering tool

Hi there,

i just want 2 know, which is the best network rendering tool for maya 4.5 maya and mental ray render rengine (2render - mulitple cameras with different frame counts)
 
Old 03-18-2003, 04:09 PM   #2
stunndman
verflixt nochmal
 
stunndman's Avatar
simon polz
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
what are your needs ? basically you can do that all by hand

there's smedge, muster, renderpal (not networked AFAIK)
 
Old 03-18-2003, 08:21 PM   #3
alexx
Yes, I Listen...
 
alexx's Avatar
Technical Director / 3D Artist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,202
just to mention:
mental ray need a seperate standalone license on every render-machine....

muster always worked fine for me (www.vvertex.com)

cheers

alexx
 
Old 03-18-2003, 08:53 PM   #4
stunndman
verflixt nochmal
 
stunndman's Avatar
simon polz
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
Quote:
mental ray need a seperate standalone license on every render-machine....


or two installations of maya 4.5

Quote:
muster always worked fine for me (www.vvertex.com)


yeah, it works - but basically its crap - all it can do for you is launch a remote process - it can't even kill the mental-ray process or parse its rendering progress status
 
Old 03-18-2003, 09:58 PM   #5
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,540
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
I prefer RUSH for all my network rendering. It is very customizable and you can script it to render with any renderer that has command line abilities(maya, prman, shake, MR, houdini, etc...).
http://seriss.com/rush/
__________________
-deke
 
Old 03-18-2003, 10:10 PM   #6
alexx
Yes, I Listen...
 
alexx's Avatar
Technical Director / 3D Artist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,202
hey.. thanx for that link.. looks really good.. but.. hmm.. quite expensive.. lets see if i can talk about that with my boss
 
Old 03-19-2003, 12:45 AM   #7
uschi
Frequenter
hobby
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 131
is it possible with one of this tool to dispatch different start and end points for more than one camera...

i used muster and it always sucks to have move cams in one scene (or render setup) i like to write batches but not for 10 or more machines...

is there any tool or good work around ???

thnx
 
Old 03-19-2003, 06:12 PM   #8
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,540
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
Quote:
Originally posted by uschi
is it possible with one of this tool to dispatch different start and end points for more than one camera...
thnx

Just start more than one render of the same scene. I've never used munster, but from looking at the online manual on their site there is an option called "Render Override" in the submit window where you could pick a camera override.
__________________
-deke
 
Old 03-23-2003, 10:23 PM   #9
matty429
CG loser
 
matty429's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Tesch
Maya Generalist
Indie
Irvine, United States
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 589
Maya NetRender



Its Free!!!!
 
Old 03-10-2004, 02:55 PM   #10
McMaster
Know-it-All
 
McMaster's Avatar
portfolio
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 354
Maya NetRender seems to me like it dosn't work with mental at all! In a sequence all slaves start to render the first frame over and over again, when one is finished, it saves the pic and the next will overwrite it again. Or am I doing something completely wrong?
 
Old 03-11-2004, 01:29 AM   #11
lricho
?
 
lricho's Avatar
portfolio
Luke Richardson
animator
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 428
Check out smedge. Its really quite nice. You just start it up on any machine you want to render on, and any of those machines can submit jobs. You can set render priorities for each machine, tell it to use 1,2 or more processors (if you have hyperthreading), get it to send emails on job completions, etc. I havent actually done too much network rendering myself, but from what I've seen of smedge, its really robust.
 
Old 03-11-2004, 02:27 AM   #12
bluemagicuk
Year of the monkey
 
bluemagicuk's Avatar
portfolio
Dirk Teucher
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,217
__________________
http://www.incrediblepebble.com
 
Old 04-30-2004, 01:11 AM   #13
Overlord
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
my fav is renderpal 2004... finally supports networking
http://www.renderpal.com
 
Old 05-05-2004, 06:30 PM   #14
fahr
Expert
 
fahr's Avatar
Chad Gleason
Creative Director
Outpost 12 Studios
Lincoln, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 723
I've been wondering if a free utility existed that allowed you network distribute and render maya batch scripts that are created manually?

Basically just dump a bunch of bat files into the queue and have it distribute them across the farm.

My network is small, so I dont need anything really any more advanced than that. Error checking would be nice, but i dont really see how it would know how to check on what it sees as nothing more than a bat file.

Many of the scriptable render managers (smedge, muster) look like they can do this, but I'm thinking free here...

Thanks!
 
Old 05-05-2004, 06:41 PM   #15
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,540
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
look on highend3d.com there are a bunch of free ones.
__________________
-deke
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.