CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 08:16 PM   #1
pbarnes
learning Python, C++, MEL
 
pbarnes's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Barnes
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Poly Test

hey all

any 1 else noticed that mudbox doesnt handle polys aswell as maya or other base programs
mubox slows down for me at around 2mill but if i straight import this into maya it doesnt lag at all
 
Old 06-21-2007, 05:33 AM   #2
erwin1978
Frequenter
Michael Eastman
student
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 222
It's got something to do with the history of the topology or whatever. When you import it to Maya it only receives the geometry stuff and none of the other stuff Mudbox uses.
 
Old 06-27-2007, 08:54 AM   #3
MasonDoran
uhh...
portfolio
Mason Doran
Digital Artist
Freelance
Wien, Austria
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,484
Send a message via ICQ to MasonDoran Send a message via Yahoo to MasonDoran
Mudbox stores each subdivision level in memory (unless you tell it otherwise)

so that means, you can have a 2mill mesh, a 1 mill mesh, a 500,000 mesh, and a 250,000 mesh all in memory at the same time.
__________________
: my website :
 
Old 06-28-2007, 01:32 AM   #4
kryoboy
Jason Aunkst
 
kryoboy's Avatar
Jason
Art Director
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 939
also. navigation is fast in maya with high poly, but.. the moment you enter edit mode with and try to use scupting brushes or even massive face deletion.. you are talking about alittle CPU grinding ;P

so the task of what to do with millions of faces is much faster in mudbox. ;P

deleting UV's may speed up the mesh performance while sculpting..
__________________
I'm the incredible moo moo cow!
 
Old 06-28-2007, 08:51 AM   #5
MasonDoran
uhh...
portfolio
Mason Doran
Digital Artist
Freelance
Wien, Austria
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,484
Send a message via ICQ to MasonDoran Send a message via Yahoo to MasonDoran
if i have a 2million vert mesh in Maya...it really chugs compared to Mud.
__________________
: my website :
 
Old 06-28-2007, 08:51 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.