CGTalk > Techniques > Compositing and Editing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2003, 10:27 AM   #1
callon
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Newbie Question: Will Combustion Work With Maya?

Hi Folks! I've been hearing little snipets about the wonders of Combustion's compositing capabilities, and I'm wondering if this software is compatible with Maya. It's seems to be only referred to in relation to 3dmax.

Any info on this? Thanks!

Mike
 
Old 03-10-2003, 10:32 AM   #2
Br0nZiLLa
Hello!
 
Br0nZiLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 276
First off I think it SHOULD work with other packages then 3DSMAX in terms of rendering, editing and importing your stuff. But then you want to track cameras for instance its easier to import the data into max then to maya. If you want to you would be better off using a package like BOUJOU.
Im not an expert, yet
__________________
Professional Jackass
 
Old 03-10-2003, 11:57 AM   #3
callon
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Thnx for your response, Bronzilla! Hey, I'm no expert either. That's why I thought I'd ask. I appreciate the reference to BOUJOU...I'll check it out.

Mike
 
Old 03-10-2003, 12:27 PM   #4
GrantKay
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 119
Hi,

Combustion like other compositing applications have some degree of integration depending on the manufacturer.

Obviously 3Dsmax is well integrated with combustion because they are both made by discreet but there are still options available for other 3D packages with combustion.

Firstly there is the file format. Combustion can read IFF files from maya and the majority of other common file formats.

There is also a MEL script available which enables maya to create a combustion workspace. This will carry over the camera moves from the maya camera to the combustion camera. The script is called MtoC. If you do a search for it in Google you will find it. It was written by a swedish combustion/maya user.

Regards
Grant

discreet UK
 
Old 03-10-2003, 10:14 PM   #5
flamedevil
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanx for the info GrantKay i was also interested about that.
Here is a link where you can find the script and more info on how it works : http://www.fido.se/mtoc/mtoc.html

 
Old 03-11-2003, 12:59 AM   #6
callon
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Thanks to all for the helpful comments. Wow! I really appreciate it!
That link will come in quite handy! God, if only human beings didn't need to sleep, I'd have enough time to do everything I need to do!

Cheers!
 
Old 03-11-2003, 08:52 AM   #7
Br0nZiLLa
Hello!
 
Br0nZiLLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 276
I see this script lets you export your maya camera movement data to cumbustion, but i need i vice versa.
How can i import my tracked camera data from combustion to maya?
__________________
Professional Jackass
 
Old 03-11-2003, 10:59 AM   #8
GrantKay
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 119
Fraid not...

Regards
Grant

Discreet UK
 
Old 01-14-2006, 03:00 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.