CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2007, 12:24 PM   #1
coldfuse[ofX]
Frequenter
Aaron
Creative
Zan Zeiro
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Toplogy problem (symmerty)

Hey guys, i am having a problem trying to set up a test heas which has been exported from 3dsmax as an OBJ.

Basically the syemmtry function is not working. I have tried to select two single faces adjcent from each other, however it states that it could not find, or set up the Symmetry with the faces i select.

I am selecting single faces, im selecting multiple...nothing works.

Is there something i am not setting up before hand in max?

I have basically cut the head from a model i was working on, so wondering if that has anything to do with it?! or maybe the options i am selecting in the OBJ dialouge box when exporting.

Yea if someone could help me that would be great. Thank you.
 
Old 04-02-2007, 12:57 PM   #2
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,322
is the head posed..?
if not... you dont need the symmetry funktion...
__________________
...
 
Old 04-02-2007, 01:01 PM   #3
coldfuse[ofX]
Frequenter
Aaron
Creative
Zan Zeiro
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
The character isn't posed, the only problem is, if i can't figure out what the problem is now, if i did have a posed character then i still wouldn't be able to do it.

So for now it is ok, but thats not really the point, if you know what i mean. I kinda want to know what i am doing wrong?!
 
Old 04-03-2007, 09:44 PM   #4
coldfuse[ofX]
Frequenter
Aaron
Creative
Zan Zeiro
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
so i guess that no one has come across the problem yet?
 
Old 04-03-2007, 11:39 PM   #5
pd
Lord of the posts
 
pd's Avatar
portfolio
Mathias Koehler
freelance
Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 880
It's really hard to say anything about this, without some visuals. Do you mind posting some screenshots, showing the head topology and the faces you did select to initialize symmetry?

edit: Maybe this is useful too:
http://www.digitaltutors.com/digita...tails.php?v=881
http://www.digitaltutors.com/digita...tails.php?v=883

Last edited by pd : 04-03-2007 at 11:42 PM.
 
Old 04-04-2007, 12:28 AM   #6
maxmare
Frequenter
 
maxmare's Avatar
portfolio
Roberto Gracia
Storyteller
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 127
Send a message via MSN to maxmare
I had the same problem when I tried it. Maybe it is the UVs, Are they symmetrical as well?
__________________
x
 
Old 04-04-2007, 05:35 AM   #7
FRimasson
Veteran
portfolio
Francois Rimasson
St Gratien, France
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via MSN to FRimasson
Do you have triangles or ngons in your model. MB handle much models with only quads.
 
Old 04-04-2007, 06:09 AM   #8
foche
Frequenter
 
foche's Avatar
Renato Luiz Fochi Filho
3D ARTIST
São José do Rio Preto, Brazil
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 134
Send a message via MSN to foche
Well...I think I had this problem too, and the only thing i did to solve it was reorient the pivot point in 3dsmax...then it works in mudbox....try and tell if it worked.
cya
__________________
"Imagination has to be the only limitation"

My DOMINACE WAR III entry:

 
Old 04-04-2007, 12:50 PM   #9
coldfuse[ofX]
Frequenter
Aaron
Creative
Zan Zeiro
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Hey guys, thanks for the reply's good to see people are getting stuck into MB.

Ok well a few things really to update on

PD: those were some great video's thanks for the link

I would just like to say that i can get symmetry to work on the X, Y and Z axis. One thing i had found out and failed to recognise, that my model wasn't Center to its grid, so once i properly moved it, i was able to get Symmetry that way.

But of course if i move it, then it doesnt work which isnt great, so i tried Tanget and well yea still the same problem the Faces i am selecting aren't ajcent.

My UV's were mapped before hand, the mesh should be symetrical, And to reply to FRImasson, i do have some triangles such as the eye's of my character... in saying that this was something that i think maybe a factor. When i export from max as an obj, it doesnt matter what option i choose for the faces to tesilate...triangles, quads or polygons it seems to devide the face's into triangles. Now i think this may be the biggest problem.

 
Old 04-06-2007, 03:11 PM   #10
lukx
semper fi
 
lukx's Avatar
portfolio
Lukasz Szeflinski
Freelance CGI Professional
Poland
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,467
Send a message via ICQ to lukx Send a message via MSN to lukx
I hvae the same problem, I don't know why when importing into mudbox from max it's selecting triangles instead quads. I'm exporting in quads from max.
__________________
:: www.lukx.com cgi
:: www.lukeszeflinski.com photography
 
Old 04-06-2007, 03:11 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.