wesware
what the?...

portfolio
Wes Ware
Wes Ware Creative
Nashville, USA

Wip: LowPoly Character - Troll Killer

Hey there,

I have been wanting to get back into Character development for awhile now, 2d and 3d.
All my skills in 3d that are character related need alot of work... specifically; modelling, texturing, rigging, animating (gee, I think that's everything).

I have always had a love for games and gaming. I just recently started to learn some of the concepts behind modelling and texturing low poly characters/assets/props for games. Most of what I've been looking at involves poly flow/economy and normal/texture mapping and how they interact and balance each other. Boy there sure are alot of decisions to make when building a character... "do I model this, do I texture that??" Really cool stuff.

Who Knows, perhaps later this year I might begin to make some marketable assets but for right now I'm just learning. Good thing is, all of my work in this area will directly benefit me when I go off and do a paying gig in another area. I really think most people in 3d would benefit from learning some of the priciples of creating for games. Sorry for the speech.

Here's the character. Fairly low end on concept, no extremely exagerated features. Once I learn decent poly flow I will probably move on to some out-there concepts but for right now, he's pretty basic. I might add some armor (unsymetrical) not much if any.
Perhaps his pants need to be a little baggier rather than form-fitting.
Probably should have started with a crate would be done by now.
I still need to go in and eliminate some polys that aren't neccesary for profile or deformation, as well as adding a few cuts where I need more definition (probably need to put some joints in first)
I will next move on to unwrapping him in BP3, then perhaps give him a go in Mudbox for the normal map, then back to BP for color, etc.

Crits welcomed

Raytraced

Editor

Editor

Editor Wire

Old 02-22-2007, 12:15 AM   #2
ernia