CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Plugins & Add-ons
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 01:20 AM   #1
pete
Gimble SUCKS
 
pete's Avatar
Peter Leary
Animator
Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 598
Send a message via ICQ to pete Send a message via AIM to pete Send a message via MSN to pete
Hair FX - max 9 WTF?

Hi there,

just wondering if anyone knows where I can get a version of hairFx for max 9? It's driving me a little nuts 'cause I can't move accross from max 8 yet...

Thanks
Pete

Ahh crap, sorry I must have messed up my search... Just realised there was another post on this... But It still doesn't mention where to get the plugin from?? I've tried http://www.ddag.org/ but they say the max 9 version is 'coming soon'

Last edited by pete : 01-19-2007 at 02:27 AM. Reason: oops
 
Old 01-19-2007, 04:25 AM   #2
SoLiTuDe
Lord of the Thundercats
 
SoLiTuDe's Avatar
portfolio
Ian Farnsworth
FX Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,394
you'll probably have to get it through turbosquid, if it's not listed on their site, email them and ask them when it will be available.
__________________
http://www.fx-td.com
 
Old 01-19-2007, 09:21 AM   #3
Steve Green
Reworking my Reel
Steve Green
Freelance 3D Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927

I seem to recall people having problems e-maling them, have you tried going through their support form?

Cheers

Steve
 
Old 01-19-2007, 11:43 PM   #4
watto
Veteran
 
watto's Avatar
portfolio
Ivan Farca
cg animation director
Muela Producciones
Mexico City, Mexico
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
hey i just posted a message with the same thing and aparently nothing yet

i e-mail´d one of the guy´s in ddag (makers of hairfx) and this is what he told me
¨ It's not released yet, ask the publisher Turbo Squid.¨

sooooo i went to turbosquid to the support thing and ive tried twice now to send them my problem and asking them for the update but not even a response

and now im fu$/ed cause i started my modeling of a character in max 9 , i did the bones, rig and skin and hmmmm no fricking hair (i im trying max´s internal hair but its bothering me a bunch that i dont have my hairfx in max 9.
if thats not all this coming friday im having a meeting to show the character to the custumers and i dont have hair o it and they will go to another place to do these commercials somewhere else if its not finished and renderd by friday morning

so you can say that im FCUKD

and still no response on the guy´s of turbosquid

good luck on that
 
Old 01-20-2007, 12:06 AM   #5
Steve Green
Reworking my Reel
Steve Green
Freelance 3D Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927

Hi,

yeah, I posted a support request and 2 different e-mails, but nothing yet, but it's only been the past day or so.

Frankly, considering these are supposed to be DCP/ACP plugins, it's not good enough to still be waiting this long after a release, otherwise what exactly is the point of this certification?

I did have an e-mail from TS about an official release of the Sitni Satni plugins, (a week after Kresimir bypassed them though) - not sure if this is the same as the Sitni Satni release, or the official version.

Maybe HairFX will be next on their list.

Cheers,

Steve
 
Old 01-23-2007, 06:09 PM   #6
watto
Veteran
 
watto's Avatar
portfolio
Ivan Farca
cg animation director
Muela Producciones
Mexico City, Mexico
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
hey hey hey
got the best news for all of you.

http://files.turbosquid.com/Product...it)%20ACAP9.exe

thats the update for max 9

in a bit it will be up cause tudbosquid´s page is out for the moment but today is the day hairfx comes out for max9.
 
Old 01-23-2007, 06:14 PM   #7
Steve Green
Reworking my Reel
Steve Green
Freelance 3D Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927

Yeah, it seems like the ACP plugins are finally rolling out this week.

- Steve
 
Old 01-23-2007, 07:44 PM   #8
Pkonst
Frequenter
portfolio
Pavel Konstantinov
Founder
RetroStyle Games
Kyiv, Ukraine
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 105
Funny thing, version of ACAP hairFX is older than previos one (1.6.0.66), but it's still crashes when you are selecting "Composite shadow" in any type of lights. I know workaround for this, but it's just really funny how long it took for Autodesk to certificate hairFX and they even didn't found such simple error! All this ACAP thing is BS :(
__________________
iPhone development and 2D/3D Art Outsourcing: http://retrostylegames.com
 
Old 01-26-2007, 07:56 PM   #9
watto
Veteran
 
watto's Avatar
portfolio
Ivan Farca
cg animation director
Muela Producciones
Mexico City, Mexico
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 45
there is an update for the hair fx compshadow problem in the ddag page.
 
Old 02-05-2007, 02:04 AM   #10
pete
Gimble SUCKS
 
pete's Avatar
Peter Leary
Animator
Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 598
Send a message via ICQ to pete Send a message via AIM to pete Send a message via MSN to pete
I have the new plugins but I keep getting this error that says,
"failed to initialize. Error code: 127 - The specified procedure could not be found"
The last installer I had for hairfx is for max 5 & 6 and i'm not sure if there is an updated one? I tried to install this one in the max 9 folder but it didn't work...
Any Ideas? It's driving me nuts...
 
Old 02-05-2007, 10:01 PM   #11
Steve Green
Reworking my Reel
Steve Green
Freelance 3D Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927

Maybe you have the new plugins but not the DCPFlics utility installed for Max 9?

Max 5 or 6 installers will not work at all with R9.

Your best bet is to contact Turbosquid through their online support forum.

- Steve
 
Old 02-06-2007, 12:21 AM   #12
pete
Gimble SUCKS
 
pete's Avatar
Peter Leary
Animator
Australia
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 598
Send a message via ICQ to pete Send a message via AIM to pete Send a message via MSN to pete
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
I have to say this sucks a bit. The certified plugin buisness doesn't seem to mean anything. You still have to wait forever for it to come out and then the release is something you have to hack together...

edit -
Yeay, i got in contact with turbosquid and they gave me the latest version...
Maybe they aren't so bad after all...

Last edited by pete : 02-06-2007 at 01:32 AM.
 
Old 02-06-2007, 12:21 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.