CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2006, 12:25 AM   #1
krone
Veteran
alessio fossati
berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
very frustrating illumination

whatīs the problem with my illumination!? I tried everithing but I canīt avoid to have these white spots on the top and on the windows.....
I have an area light (with no shadows) and an infinite light (with area shadows) and columns and roof are modelled by extrusion from the same piece

Spots appear:

- with both the lights
- with or without GI (150%, accuracy 90%, 1000 samples, min 200 max 250)
- with or without AO
- shadows accuracy 100%, samples up to 1000 for min and max

thanks

 
Old 12-15-2006, 12:30 AM   #2
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,723
Are we looking at a multipass render? If so show a render that isn't the composite of the multipass.

The most likely cause for the pixels is your shadows, the easiest solution is to just add some geometry so that your walls and windowframes have some thickness to obscure the shadow bias. If your'e using shadowmaps on any of your lights modify teh shadow bias settings there too.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 12-15-2006, 12:52 AM   #3
krone
Veteran
alessio fossati
berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
thanks for your reply. No, itīs no multipass, only the model without applied materials (the problem remain with materials). I post two shots, with area light on and and another with infinite light on.

 
Old 12-15-2006, 02:01 AM   #4
heathivan
_______________
 
heathivan's Avatar
portfolio
heath hewett
hewettfarm
Jersey City, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 416
I've also had this problem before (light leaking through single poly intersections). Attached is an image of 2 cubes intersecting and 2 single polys. Notice the light leaking only on the single polys.

As Per-Anders suggested, I'd add geometry.

heath
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 21.png (85.9 KB, 90 views)
 
Old 12-15-2006, 02:21 AM   #5
ozmackem
New Member
Paul Joice
person
here, Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
As a quickfix and id the renders will be internal only, you can place a cube surrounding your room with a hole cut into to allow windo wlight in. Get it as tight to the window edges and room extremes as you can. This should stop your light leaks messing up your render.
 
Old 12-15-2006, 02:30 AM   #6
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,659
I don't see a phong tag for the structure.
If there is one take the angle down to 20%
from the default 60-80.

Also, select those edges and add a small bevel
(adding geometry)
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 12-15-2006, 08:18 AM   #7
krone
Veteran
alessio fossati
berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
thanks guys

Naturally adding geometry works well but the problem is that sometimes itīs too complicated to do (not in this case but I would like to find out something definitive and I would like to understand why a software that we think quite perfect is sometimes so imperfect).

The phong tag make nothing.....
Surrounding cube: it seems to work and produce a reduction of spots, not perfect but much better. As suggested by Heathivan, the problem appears with intersecting polys, modelling beams and roof with different closed objects produce big improvements.
 
Old 12-15-2006, 09:57 AM   #8
mogh
just hit render once more
 
mogh's Avatar
portfolio
Jan Weigand
Dipl. Industrial Designer
Fendt Traktors
Kaufbeuren, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 626
Send a message via ICQ to mogh Send a message via MSN to mogh
Make a black box around your building to avoid leakage ...
like Janine does it in her 3D Fluff GI DVD ...

the window front has to be cut out of course

cya
__________________
R17 Visualize - Flickr Album - Website
 
Old 12-15-2006, 10:58 AM   #9
basilisk
Lord of the posts
 
basilisk's Avatar
James Newman
Basilisk
Oxford, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Send a message via AIM to basilisk Send a message via Yahoo to basilisk
You can give temporary solidity to no solid objects using the explosion FX deformer - make sure that you set the time to 0% and you can adjust the cluster thickness (positive or negative) until you don't get light leakage. If all your polygons are facing the same way then it shouldn't affect the appearance of your interior. Even thin solid objects can allow light to leak with soft shadows.
__________________
:: basilisk ::
 
Old 12-16-2006, 03:39 PM   #10
Taxman9
Its time I was on my way
Josh Boyd
Student
Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Send a message via MSN to Taxman9
I think you could also add thickness with ClothNurbs, setting subdivison to 0 then setting the thickness... The normals would all have to be alligned...
 
Old 12-16-2006, 03:39 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.