CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax Tutorials & Tips
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2006, 07:20 PM   #1
Lua
do i look emo enough?!
 
Lua's Avatar
portfolio
Marty Jones
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Making a spline box?

Ughh, I've been using 3ds max for a while, and I'm still stuck on a simple little problem. I want to attempt to model a building, so I'm going to need a box right? So, I'm trying to make a box using splines, but I can't for the life of me figure out how. I've tried everything I can think of. Making two rectangles and connecting them, extruding the spline, converting a poly box to spline, etc. Everything I can think of either just won't work, or is to complicated for me to manage, yet no one else seems to have any trouble. So I'm wondering, anyone know how to make a spline box?
__________________
death is but crossing the seas.
 
Old 11-13-2006, 07:30 PM   #2
SnipeyX
Animator
 
SnipeyX's Avatar
James Clarke
Senior Applications Specialist
Kansas City, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 789
I'm confused, why do you need a box out of splines? What would you do with it from that point?

Generally, I model each wall of the house from CAD elevation files, so in that case I'm coming from splines for each wall. Otherwise, Why not start with a standard poly box, what is the significance of splines here?
__________________
| Twitter | LinkedIn | JCanimator.com |

Last edited by SnipeyX : 11-13-2006 at 07:32 PM.
 
Old 11-13-2006, 07:33 PM   #3
Lua
do i look emo enough?!
 
Lua's Avatar
portfolio
Marty Jones
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnipeyX
I'm confused, why do you need a box out of splines? What would you do with it form that point?

Generally, I moel each wall of the house from CAD elevation files, so in that case I'm coming from splines for each wall. Otherwise, Why not start with a standard poly box, what is the significance of splines here?
To be honest, I have dabbled with poly modelling, but spline is much simpler/easier, so I imagine if I could modelling using spline boxes it would just be easier. Is poly modelling generally used on building modelling?
__________________
death is but crossing the seas.
 
Old 11-13-2006, 08:06 PM   #4
SnipeyX
Animator
 
SnipeyX's Avatar
James Clarke
Senior Applications Specialist
Kansas City, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 789
Everyone works differently, and each method has its pros and cons, use whatever you are comfortable with, I just wasn't sure what direction you were wanting to go.

Basically I suppose my response to, "How do I model a building from a spline box" would be, that instead of thinking of a building as a box, think of it as pieces assembled together. So model each piece separately in splines and put the ends together. So model the splines of each wall as separate objects if that makes sense.

Otherwise, just look into the various button in the edit poly modifier (edit poly is more straightforward than edit mesh modeling IMO) Spline modeling is a great asset to have, but at some point you'll run into an occaision where you need to use poly modelling to get the desired result and it'll be handy to know how to get there.
__________________
| Twitter | LinkedIn | JCanimator.com |
 
Old 11-13-2006, 08:09 PM   #5
Lua
do i look emo enough?!
 
Lua's Avatar
portfolio
Marty Jones
United States
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
OK, gotcha! Thanks for the help man. You're absolutely right on all those points. I think I'll take your advice and try modelling each wall at a time.
__________________
death is but crossing the seas.
 
Old 11-13-2006, 08:09 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.