CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2006, 06:26 AM   #1
techmage
living in maya
 
techmage's Avatar
portfolio
Ryan
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,076
maya cloth vs syflex

I'm doing some research into which one I should invest time into and will get me the most realistic results. Maya is my primary app, so maya cloth would be ideal. But I have never seen maya cloth be used in any high end productions. Syflex seems to dominate that market. So I am just wondering, is this just my misconception? Or is syflex really superior? Are their any feature length films that used maya cloth?
 
Old 11-11-2006, 06:31 AM   #2
thomwickes
Frequenter
Thom Wickes
FX Artist
Los Angeles, California, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 361
Send a message via MSN to thomwickes
yeah. syflex is better.
 
Old 11-11-2006, 08:14 AM   #3
faultymoose
Know-it-All
 
faultymoose's Avatar
portfolio
Boon Cotter
Lighting & Rendering
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 491
In my opinion, Maya Cloth is more powerful, with the potential for more realistic results... however it's much more difficult to GET good results from, and it's sloooooow.
__________________

 
Old 11-18-2006, 09:41 AM   #4
Pyrokinesis
Frequenter
portfolio
Shaun Friedberg
Technical Director
Weta Digital
Wellington, NZ
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
I am working on a project with cloth now and I must agree, if you are willing to put in the time, Maya is a better way to go. Syflex seems to give good results quickly, but with maya you can get much better colissions, and cloth behavior.

If you go with syflex, I would invest in digital tutors syflex tutes, they include a great script to speed up your workflow. If you go with Maya Cloth, then autodesk has a couple videos, and books, as well as Gnomons cloth 101.

As always, though I hate to admit it the docs are a great source. I chose to go with Maya, and because i do dynamics it wasnt that big of a leap to learn how the cloth engine works.

Good Luck
__________________
Ok, But Can You Do It...ON FIRE!
 
Old 11-18-2006, 09:41 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.