CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2006, 12:19 AM   #1
k2exoman
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Question water droplets and per particle size expression help!

Hello,

I am a relative n00b but have done a fair amount of research and I understand the concepts but I need a little help with a maya expression.

I am trying to create a water drop runoff scene, similar to what you may see on a skylight that is being rained on.

I am using a dome shaped polygon as a particle (droplet1) emitter (emitter1). The particles are set to collide with the dome, and I am using a gravity (gravity1) field to drag them down the sides. I have set up a collision event so that the particles from emitter1 emit particles (droplet2) as they collide with the dome on thier way down the sides. the droplet2 particle inherits the motion but also has a little friction so as to stay behind the lead particles (droplet1). They are also tied to gravity and set to collide with the dome so they run down the sides too.

Both particle sets (droplet1 & 2) are blobby surface (sw) with the threshhold set around 0.7. This works well for creating cohesion between the particles.

The expression I would like help with would adjust per-particle size attributes on the droplet2 particle set so as to create a water-droplet-like 'taper' with the lead particles remaining fuller then the rear particles (the weight of the 'water' leading downward). I believe having the particles decrease in size by age (to a certain width) would be sufficient.

Can anyone help me write such an expression or point to a site with decent examples, or is this idea even possible?

Thanks for your help.

-Steve
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:29 AM   #2
k2exoman
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Okay.. so here is what I have figured out...

if ( frame % 5 == 0 )
{
if ( particleShape1.radiusPP > 0){
particleShape1.radiusPP = particleShape1.radiusPP - 0.05 ;
}
}

How can I get the particleShape1.radiusPP to equal zero?

A thin particle line remains after using this runtime expression.
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:55 AM   #3
k2exoman
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Here is what I have now and I think it will work fine for my situation.

I am posting it for others.

if ( frame % 5 == 0 )
{
if ( particleShape1.radiusPP > 0){
particleShape1.radiusPP = particleShape1.radiusPP - 0.05 ;
}
else{
particleShape1.radiusPP = 0;
}
}
 
Old 11-02-2006, 12:55 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.