CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > WIP/Critiques: Flash Design and Animation
Login register
  share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2003, 04:14 PM   #1
[msf]
Primitive Screwhead
 
[msf]'s Avatar
Matthew Foster
Artist
Winter Park, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to [msf] Send a message via AIM to [msf] Send a message via Yahoo to [msf]
My movieclips cant be made into buttons.

First off I have looked through the help alot if anyone knows a specific area in the help section that comes with the program let me know. I am using Macromedia Flash MX.

I am trying to make my movieclips into buttons. I remember this used to be simple just set the instance as a button but it seems now you have to change the whole symbol. My actionscript to make the buttons fade looks like so for each menu item.

onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
if (this.hitTest(_root._xmouse, _root._ymouse, true)) {
this.nextFrame();
} else {
this.prevFrame();
}
}

I thought I could just add onRelease but its not working any help here?

Thanks in Advance.
MSF
__________________
If noone quotes you, you probaly havn't said anything worth saying.
 
Old 02-03-2003, 05:07 PM   #2
[msf]
Primitive Screwhead
 
[msf]'s Avatar
Matthew Foster
Artist
Winter Park, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to [msf] Send a message via AIM to [msf] Send a message via Yahoo to [msf]
well I have since discovered the onPress event for movie clips but how the heck to I get it to gotoplay on the maintimeline with this?
Anyone?

SAVE MEEEE
__________________
If noone quotes you, you probaly havn't said anything worth saying.
 
Old 02-03-2003, 05:27 PM   #3
[msf]
Primitive Screwhead
 
[msf]'s Avatar
Matthew Foster
Artist
Winter Park, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to [msf] Send a message via AIM to [msf] Send a message via Yahoo to [msf]
Figured it out. Nevermind
__________________
If noone quotes you, you probaly havn't said anything worth saying.
 
Old 02-09-2003, 09:09 PM   #4
(DARKELEMENT)
Veteran
 
(DARKELEMENT)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 48
mind sharing how you do it I would like to do the same.thx
 
Old 02-09-2003, 11:22 PM   #5
fig
designer of stuff...
Chris F
graphic/interactive designer/aspiring animator
Houston, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 967
Send a message via AIM to fig
just add your on(release) code to the movieclip without changing anything else to get it to act as a button. to move on the timeline your code would just be something like

_root.gotoAndPlay(frame#);

chris
 
Old 01-14-2006, 09:00 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
  share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.