CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2006, 03:08 PM   #1
zzmadd
Frequenter
 
zzmadd's Avatar
portfolio
Gianluca Maddalena
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to zzmadd Send a message via MSN to zzmadd
Depth Multi Pass how to?

I am trying to use depth multi pass

I can't figure how to use it in photoshop.
I have to post process all the image layers in photoshop, but I don't understand how to use depth so to give depth of field calculated in cinema to the image.

Which layer blending?
Apply gaussian blur?

Or simply put I can't do anything with it and whenever I need depth of field with multi pass (which is always) I have to use another tool?

thanxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
 
Old 09-01-2006, 03:15 PM   #2
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,559
If you have Photoshop CS there is a filter called Lens Blur. You apply lesn blur to your clean render and then load the depth pass into the filter.
 
Old 09-01-2006, 03:27 PM   #3
jsls
Medical Visualization
 
jsls's Avatar
portfolio
Joshua Sadler
BlackBoxx Studio
Fort Collins, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 418
If you have CS2 you can use the Lens Blur under filter Blur and their is a pull down to choose your depth mask.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg filter.jpg (13.4 KB, 27 views)
__________________
R11.5 Studio| Mudbox 2010| AEPro CS5| 3DCoat Pro
Dual Quad Xeon 2.5GHz / Windows 7 x64 / 12GB RAM
 
Old 09-01-2006, 03:47 PM   #4
zzmadd
Frequenter
 
zzmadd's Avatar
portfolio
Gianluca Maddalena
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to zzmadd Send a message via MSN to zzmadd
Thank you guys ..

All done :-)

But ..
While in the RGBA output from cinema depth of field looks good

Just as an info

In CS2 after applying the filter it looks good too ... but ... the edges of the blurred obj suffer from low anti aliasing settings that I kept low, because it was going to be blurred anyway in cinema.

So to use the mask either I blur the mask, but still it doesn't look that good ..
Or I have to render quite good anti aliasing for the obj that will be blurred using lens blur and depth in CS2 ...
 
Old 09-01-2006, 03:58 PM   #5
tcastudios
Steady now!
 
tcastudios's Avatar
...
Sweden
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,245
For correct depthmaps you should not use anti aliased renders.
(the "blurring" AA does, makes the greyscale depthmap not fit)
Turn anti aliasing off and render double or bigger size.

If you do a search, there are explanations for this.

Cheers
Lennart
__________________
MSA | OSX | xfiles ...Cinema4D Tools
 
Old 09-01-2006, 04:05 PM   #6
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzmad
Thank you guys ..

All done :-)

But ..
While in the RGBA output from cinema depth of field looks good

Just as an info

In CS2 after applying the filter it looks good too ... but ... the edges of the blurred obj suffer from low anti aliasing settings that I kept low, because it was going to be blurred anyway in cinema.

So to use the mask either I blur the mask, but still it doesn't look that good ..
Or I have to render quite good anti aliasing for the obj that will be blurred using lens blur and depth in CS2 ...


I always render out best AA so my rgba looks crisp---which may be more an issue for animation than print, as DOF doenst hide flickering--just blurs it

Could you post an image showing the issue?
Odds are you will prbably need to re-render. MAybe you can get away with rendering just the object with an alpha and comping it in?
 
Old 09-01-2006, 04:11 PM   #7
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcastudios
For correct depthmaps you should not use anti aliased renders.
(the "blurring" AA does, makes the greyscale depthmap not fit)
Turn anti aliasing off and render double or bigger size.

If you do a search, there are explanations for this.

Cheers
Lennart


thanks Lennart--I think I remember reading this--then forgot!
 
Old 09-02-2006, 10:55 AM   #8
zzmadd
Frequenter
 
zzmadd's Avatar
portfolio
Gianluca Maddalena
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to zzmadd Send a message via MSN to zzmadd
Hi ..

yes .. the AA makes depth not fit ..

So I have to render bigger size .. without AA?
Then apply depth?
then scale down?

mmmm would the final image look anti aliased enough?

What I did I blurred the depth image
Blurring it made the edges softer ...

The result shows no problem or much much less of it
Here the 2 files. I will do a search on internet for more in depth techniques
The AA problem is most visible in the centre
One of the little boys ( parallelepipeds ) has it on top of his "head"

Thank you !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ChevyDepth.jpg (68.4 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg ChevyBlurDepth.jpg (66.9 KB, 47 views)

Last edited by zzmadd : 09-02-2006 at 10:57 AM.
 
Old 09-02-2006, 10:55 AM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.