Following tutorial - Don't quite understand this step

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2006
Following tutorial - Don't quite understand this step

Hi all

I'm very new to drawing and currently I am focusing on drawing heads, but I'm having a bit of trouble trying to figure out a technique for drawing at a 3/4 angle.

So I found this tutorial through CGTalk which is the type of guide to proportions I was looking for, but I am a bit confused by step 1
I know the tutorial isn't from here, but I was hoping that with the expertise around here most people would understand what the author was trying to get across.

Simply, when you draw a circle at the start, I get that you draw a horizontal and vertical line following the shape of a sphere and make note of where the lines cross. But it then goes on to add a third line which marks where the ear should be (and thus the start of the jawline). I'm confused as to how you figure out where this ear/jaw line is supposed to go.

So that line in the second step, is it just placed wherever looks correct, or is there a technique that you are all familiar with which denotes its placement?

If anyone can give me a hand to understand what the author is trying to say I’ll be very grateful

Thanks

[edit - fixed a typo]

Last edited by WeetBix : 07 July 2006 at 03:11 AM.

07 July 2006
Hello WeetBix,

I made a hack animated gif that shows the third line forming.

The author refers to the recommended books which cover all of that, especially the Loomis books. I remember there used to be online versions of the books here. http://www.saveloomis.org/

Below is the Loomis' diagram of a sphere.

Good luck.

07 July 2006
That's fantastic ekah!

Thanks very much

07 July 2006
Thread automatically closed