CGTalk > Software > E-on Software Vue
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2006, 07:59 PM   #1
DarkEdge
My Mind Is A Wasteland
 
DarkEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Ray Phelps
Fallbrook, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 641
vue 5 rendering....?

hi all!

yes, i've read the post's here in regards to rendering and that neat little message that says, "memory all used up, bud!"
with 2 gigs of ram, radeon 9600 pro card, p4 3.0 ghz chip...i'm finding this a lot hard to believe.

right now i have a scene with 2 million polys and i can't render anything above "final" (i think that's whats after production/test mode)...and even then i have to drop the dpi down below 300. it will write to disk and get stuck at 99% and lock up. silly.

now i know it's a big scene but not even being able to render it is stupid...if it takes hours on hours that's one thing, at least it's rendered though!

any help would be appreciated.
 
Old 06-20-2006, 06:38 AM   #2
Wabe
Know-it-All
 
Wabe's Avatar
portfolio
Walther Beck
CSB & Friends
Black Forest, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 413
What Vue version are we talking about here? I guess Esprit.

2 million polygons is not a big scene, my average for Esprit is around 50 million -
for Infinite we talk billions of polygons.

However, the problem you have is real. What is in the scene? This is more important than the actual count of polygons. Any objects with highres textures? From Poser for example? Ultra highres textures are identified as "enemy #1" - so to say.
You should check that and reduce them if possible.

I guess you are not using network rendering - for that you need to do some extra settings to render in higher quality level than final - 2.5D blur off.

As well i often heard that when people do the dpi setting higher than the default there are problems. I never do that - this is something that is absolutely NOT needed at all. What is important is the amount of pixels you render, not the area you spread them out in. Rendered images for print need to go through something like Photoshop anyway - to change anbd control the color mode - and there the dpi setting can be done easily too.
__________________
_________________________________

It is nice to be important,
but it is more important to be nice.

Duster Bennett
 
Old 06-21-2006, 04:49 PM   #3
MT-Cup
Up to Here
portfolio
Adrienne Donatelli
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 489
Good ways to reduce that is to look hard at your scene. Things that are not close to the camera and will not suffer from reduced texture maps, right click on them and chose "bake to polygons" a great memory saver. Also look at the textures you are using. Doing a lot of reflection/refraction or perhaps transluscency? Try tweaking them down, also. There are lots of little things you can do to help make it over the threshold where you'll get what you're looking for.
 
Old 06-21-2006, 04:49 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.