Creating Weapons for Half Life 2

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2006   #1
Question Creating Weapons for Half Life 2

I want to create some weapons for a Half Life 2 Mod. This is my first attempt importing a weapon into HL2, so I have a few questions. I am creating this for someone who wants it to have the following specs:*

Really, just 2 questions:
below it says 3 models for the weapon:first person, third person, world view, so I assume it means what it says? create 3 models. I assume they will need to vary in polycount. First person= highest poly, third person=midrange, world view=lowest poly?

The last line I'm a little unclear on too. If anyone can shed some light on this I'd appreciate it. example links would be helpful too, thanks!

* 3 models - first person, third person, world view (pick-up)
* 1 1024x1024 texture (first person model, I think the others can be smaller)
* Normal maps
* 1k - 2k polys
* Must replace one of the existing weapon classes/functionalities in HL2 * Sounds would be a nice bonus, but not necessary

Old 05 May 2006   #2
You only need two models;

The view model. Usually prefixed with v_
The world model. usually prefixed with w_

The world model is seen being held by other players/NPCs and the view model is the one seen in the first person view. You may end up creating more than one world model because of the LOD models and/or shadow model, but there is no player model like Half-Life 1 games (p_).

Old 05 May 2006   #3
edit someone beat me to it.

dont forget you will have at least 3 x 1024x1024 maps
you will need a specualr map a normalmap and a diffuse map
and who knows mayb even an alpha map.

Old 05 May 2006   #4
You don't *have* to have all 3 texture maps.