Character WIP - Elf dude

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2006
Character WIP - Elf dude

hey guys, been awhile... I'm just getting started on a new model, and looking for any crits you can offer. So far he's sitting at around 1700 tris, I'm not really all that concerned about polycount. I'm not sure if I should suit him up in armor, or go lightweight leather style... anyway thanks for looking.

Last edited by jfalconer : 07 July 2006 at 12:42 PM.

05 May 2006
no crits at all, very nice mesh work

05 May 2006
haven't worked on him too much, just trying to work out a decent looking concept. I took some elements from FF Tactics I liked. I can't decide if I should leave him as an elf, since so far its only his pointy ears... the rest would show itself in the color and textures on his armor (probably go with some tree/leaf motifs). Anyway, fire away!

Last edited by jfalconer : 05 May 2006 at 01:10 AM.

05 May 2006
The hair in your first post looks almost "painterly", was that your intention? If it is it will be interesting how you apply that aesthetic to the rest of the model.

Good luck and keep going!

05 May 2006
I like the concept, it feels nice and solid all the way down to the hips, below I'm not to sure. The shoulders and everything else seems very functional and reasonable flexible, especially the joints by the feet on the other hand seem very stiff. Maybe have another whack at them? At least that’s my suggestion :]

05 May 2006

Lower armor doesn't need to be all that flexible, but I agree that it doesn't quite match the look of the upper armor. I'll probably add more pieces to the foot (in texture), like this picture shows, so that it has some flexibility. I also changed his ears... so... well, so much for the elf wip! its now a knight wip.

Last edited by jfalconer : 05 May 2006 at 10:41 PM.

05 May 2006
Looking good keep working

05 May 2006