CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Pixologic ZBrush
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2006, 07:59 PM   #1
Haider of Sweden
eager to learn
 
Haider of Sweden's Avatar
Haider Alghifary
Architect | CG Artist
White AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 697
Angry Anyone recognise this error-message in Maya after importing from Zbrush?

Hello there!

Does anyone recognise this error-message?

Your OBJ file contains faces shared by multiple groups.
Maya cannot create multiple objects for this file
A single mesh object will be created instead.
The OBJ group information will be captured in Maya sets


Normally, when importing multiple objects, they are importet into maya so that every part is separate.
But in some cases I get this error message and somehow lots of selection sets are being created.
__________________
/Haider
www.haider.se
 
Old 04-12-2006, 05:28 AM   #2
SajNT
さよなら大好きな人。。
 
SajNT's Avatar
portfolio
William (ウィリァーム)
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Send a message via ICQ to SajNT
Under the File>Import options in Maya, check the Create Multiple Objects to "False", and see if it resolves the issue.

The Polygons>Seperate command allows you to seperate geometries you've combined together in an earlier application.

Hope these helps ; j
__________________
 
Old 04-12-2006, 08:27 AM   #3
Haider of Sweden
eager to learn
 
Haider of Sweden's Avatar
Haider Alghifary
Architect | CG Artist
White AB
Sweden
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 697
seems not to be this

Thanx William för replying (very nice avatar by the way)


About the first setting - I knew it already and it is a condition to make this work. However, still sometimes - I think when objects where crossing eachothers (Not 100% sure) and after dividing and then exporting into OBJ/Maya, that error-message comes and Maya gives me a bunch of Sel Sets. It seesm like it cant really separate them correctly.


As for the other command, I know it too. Probem is that if I manually separate, the object/vtx order changes and it gives me a nasty problem when trying to reimport it into Zbrush.
__________________
/Haider
www.haider.se
 
Old 04-12-2006, 08:27 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.