CGTalk > Software > Blender
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2006, 10:48 AM   #1
womanonfire
made with 100% real girls
 
womanonfire's Avatar
portfolio
Auriea Samyn
Realtime Artist
Tale of Tales
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 495
Problem using Direct X Exporter in 2.41

I could use some help please.
Could you download the new version of the Direct X Exporter script
http://xoomer.virgilio.it/glabro1/DirectXExporter241.py

and just select and export the default cube using the "Export Sel" option and tell me if it works for you? You can tell if it worked if you can see the cube in MVIEW
http://users.skynet.be/fa201614/irrlicht/mview.exe

I am only getting empty .x files from Export Sel. I don't know if this is a problem with the script or if there is something worng with my installation of Python or what.

Last edited by womanonfire : 03-24-2006 at 10:51 AM.
 
Old 03-25-2006, 05:07 PM   #2
aromari
New Member
Arben
Siena, Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
 
Old 03-25-2006, 11:39 PM   #3
womanonfire
made with 100% real girls
 
womanonfire's Avatar
portfolio
Auriea Samyn
Realtime Artist
Tale of Tales
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 495
yes, well, i know it works for you. you wrote the script and have told me that you tested it. but i need advice from someone else who has tried it, so maybe i can solve my problem with the script...

i have tried everything but it does not work for me. didn't work on my colleagues computer either. other scripts work just fine, so i am seeking other people who have successfully exported with it or if it didn't work, some confirmation. thank you for taking the time.

(but would be nice to know if you are using just the standard release version of blender or some beta version? maybe the official release is missing something necessary?? also, its weird because before you fixed the yz flip in Export Sel i got proper exports, they were just always facing the wrong way and i couldn't export more than one selected object at a time.)

Last edited by womanonfire : 03-25-2006 at 11:49 PM.
 
Old 03-26-2006, 12:36 AM   #4
bigkahuna
Veteran
 
bigkahuna's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Unterweiser
Serious Games Developer
PMUdesign
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 82
I followed your instructions and it worked for me. I'm using Blender 2.41, Windows XP Pro, and a full install of Python 2.4. I have alot of .x file export scripts, so I manually opened and ran the script through the text window. I then viewed the .x file using Ultimate Unwrap 3D.

Hope this helps.
 
Old 03-26-2006, 09:04 AM   #5
aromari
New Member
Arben
Siena, Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by womanonfire
(but would be nice to know if you are using just the standard release version of blender or some beta version? maybe the official release is missing something necessary?? also, its weird because before you fixed the yz flip in Export Sel i got proper exports, they were just always facing the wrong way and i couldn't export more than one selected object at a time.)


I'm using Blender 241 official release.I dont if this can help but,try to have a visible
3d window when exporting.It must not be covered by the script's GUI and FileSelector
and try to close blender when viewing in Mview.Maybe it cant display the file if it's used
by another app.
The "Export Sel" exports only one object.If you need a version which exports more than
one object ,can modify it.It doesn't need too may efforts to do this.

Ben
 
Old 03-26-2006, 09:49 AM   #6
womanonfire
made with 100% real girls
 
womanonfire's Avatar
portfolio
Auriea Samyn
Realtime Artist
Tale of Tales
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 495
OKAY!
as you say, if i run the GUI in a window to the side (not covering the 3d window) the export does work!
flip z is working and everything. very good. i will try somethings more complex than cones and cubes and get back to you. odd that the GUI covering the 3d window makes the export fail, of course.

Exporting more than one selected object at a time is essential. If you can add that ability please it would be fantastic, also this makes the script as flexible as possible. thank you.
 
Old 03-26-2006, 03:10 PM   #7
aromari
New Member
Arben
Siena, Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
 
Old 03-31-2006, 11:40 AM   #8
womanonfire
made with 100% real girls
 
womanonfire's Avatar
portfolio
Auriea Samyn
Realtime Artist
Tale of Tales
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 495
Mr. Omari,

Sorry for the late reply. I've been happily exporting using Export Sel all week, and it's been a very busy week. So my problem was indeed solved by loading the script in a separate script window with the 3d window still showing.

I've tried the multi export version of the script and I get the following error:

Tranceback (most recent call last):
File "(string)", line 158, in draw
File "(string)", line 77, in my_callback_sel
File "(string)", line 466, in exportSelMesh
AttributeError: index

I hope that this is meaningful to you.

Oh, and one more thing. Something odd... could it be that if there is a space in the name of an object, it could cause the export to fail? I was renaming some objects and noticed this. When I took the spaces out the export worked again. hmmm...

thanks for all your help!

Last edited by womanonfire : 03-31-2006 at 11:46 AM.
 
Old 04-02-2006, 09:01 AM   #9
aromari
New Member
Arben
Siena, Italy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Just fixed (I hope)! It removes the space from the mesh name too.
The spaces causes an invalid x file because the importer reads
"Template ObjName {" .If any space in the ObjName, for eg. "Sphere 1"
the importer read "Template ObjName Unknown {".It depends on the importer
too....sometimes it works

Ben
 
Old 04-03-2006, 12:25 PM   #10
womanonfire
made with 100% real girls
 
womanonfire's Avatar
portfolio
Auriea Samyn
Realtime Artist
Tale of Tales
Gent, Belgium
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 495
yes! it works!

multiple objects and spaces in names
all very very good.
will be using it alot this week so if anything else comes up...
but this is perfect, thanks again!
 
Old 04-03-2006, 12:25 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.