CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2002, 10:30 PM   #1
nebba
New Member
Architecture
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16
Processing Lights for every frame

Summary
Is there any information as to why 3D Studio Processes Lights for every frame(during a sequence) and then sometimes only processes them once(in the begining of the sequence).

Detail
I am currently working on a walkthrough of a large Science facility.
About 4 weeks into the the project I noticed that when I rendered a sequence of frames the Lights were processing before every frame. I checked an earlier file and found that the lights would only be processed once in the very beginning of the render. I narrowed the problem to my animated door. If I turned the doors off the render would only process the lights once.

Has anyone else seen this before? This issue increases my render time 6 fold. And yes, the easy way is to turn the doors off when I don't need them but I am looking for more of a technical answer.

Software:
-3D Studio Max and Viz 4
-Just scanline rendering w/ 1 raytrace direct, 30+ omni and 30+ direct.
(no radiosity..I am still doing it the old way)

Thanks,
Ben
 
Old 03-05-2002, 11:57 PM   #2
Joebount
grounded
 
Joebount's Avatar
portfolio
Matthieu Schneider
Senior Character Artist
Sony
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,043
It depends if you moved an object, then Max has to recalculate all lights solution ( he cannot re use the same shadow solution if something move). If you just move a camera trough a scene, Max will only calculate the lights once
 
Old 03-06-2002, 12:21 AM   #3
nebba
New Member
Architecture
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16
True

Thanks you for that info. I start to forget the basics of rendering after being consumed by my own work.
However, I do have one science lab(isolated in its own file) that has no animated objects; and it is still calculating the lights for every frame.
Thanks,
Ben
 
Old 03-06-2002, 05:50 AM   #4
Ls3D
Freelance since 1991
 
Ls3D's Avatar
portfolio
M. Shea
3D Artist/Illustrator/Set Designer/Generalist
Shea Design
Encinitas California, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,519
Lights,..

Looks like we will be able to bake our lighting solutions into textures easier in max5,.. man where was that 6 years ago?
Besides lightscape..

RE your science lab, could a raytrace material, or opacity map in front of a raytrace light be the source of that forced re-calc?

-Shea
www.Ls3D.com
 
Old 03-06-2002, 11:04 PM   #5
nebba
New Member
Architecture
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16
Solution

After to many hours of figuring this out, this is what I found:

In Max 4.2 the frames would only prepare the lights when there was an animated object in view of the camera. When the scene was static the frames rendered without preparing lights(except for the first frame.)
...Perfect result. What I need and what everyone told me would happen.

However in Viz 4, this was not the case. For some reason the same scene, even in the static areas, would still insist on preparing the lights for every frame. Stupid Viz 4.

I am rendering everything in Max from now on.

Thanks for all your help guys,
Ben
 
Old 01-13-2006, 03:00 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.