CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2006, 10:30 PM   #1
sboyd
Frequenter
 
sboyd's Avatar
Stephen Boyd
Animation Director
Nucleus Medical Media
Kennesaw, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 126
Problem using RPFs, how

Greetings, I have a question about using 3D effects in RPF files.

I have rendered RPF sequences in Cinema 4D and imported them into Adobe AfterEffects. I am trying to use the depth information to make a depth of field blur and also fog effects. Every time I try this I get some sort of problem with the effect. The areas that are in focus always have pixelated halos around them when I use a blur or fog. When I use a blur, the area in focus looks ok except for the edges of the objects, and the blur bleeds into the background. It's almost like AE is ignoring the alpha channel in the RPF files, or not antialiasing the alpha channel.

I have incorporated all the options (depth, objects buffer, coverage, non-clamped color, etc...) into the RPFs. I have tried using AEs built-in 3D effects (Depth of Field, 3D Fog), and I have also tried using adjustment layers and using the RPFs as a luma matt for the adjustment layers. This method look a little better than using the built-in functions, but the edges of the areas of focus still have pixelated halos. Anyone know what I could to fix this?

Last edited by sboyd : 03-07-2006 at 08:45 PM.
 
Old 11-07-2006, 12:58 PM   #2
Wurzelsepp2000
PRO
portfolio
Patrick Mueller
3D Character Animation & Visualization
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 170
Hey guys!

I´ve the same problem.
I know the z channel in rpf files has no antialias and I have to use the coverage channel to do the antialias for the z.
But how to do that? Everyone said: "Use coverage for antialias" but no one had an idea how that works!
Some ideas?
 
Old 11-07-2006, 01:59 PM   #3
m|3
Frequenter
Graphic Designer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 187
Perhaps AE has interpreted the alpha channel for the RPF incorrectly. Try changing it's settings from Straight Alpha to Pre-multiplied or vice verca.
__________________
-- m|3
 
Old 11-23-2006, 11:13 AM   #4
torbjorn
Nuker
portfolio
Torbjörn Lindbäck
Senior Nuke Compositor
The Mill
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 215
Funny, I get the same problem! All jaggy, can't seem to get it to work... :/Hoping for someone to reply and help here
__________________
Nuke comper at The Mill, London
Portfolio:http://www.elitevfx.com
 
Old 11-23-2006, 12:15 PM   #5
Mylenium
_________________________
Mylène's greatest fan
Modeler/Animator/Compositing Artist
Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wurzelsepp2000
Everyone said: "Use coverage for antialias" but no one had an idea how that works!
Some ideas?


It doesn't. You'd have to pre-compose or use a duplicate as a matte and both techniques ruin your 3D-ishness. Anyway, dunno why people put ub with ZBlur in the first place (looks like crap). The simple and obvious solution would be to get the depth using 3D Channel Extract and then use either AE's own Lensblur effect or third-party plugins such as Lenscare. I know it sucks, but there's nothing you can do about it (unless osme nice guy at Adobe fixes this mess or a clever plugin programmer comes along).

Mylenium
__________________
[Pour Mylène, ange sur terre]
----------------------------------------------
www.myleniumblog.com

 
Old 11-24-2006, 04:39 PM   #6
Wurzelsepp2000
PRO
portfolio
Patrick Mueller
3D Character Animation & Visualization
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 170
Aha.... ok

Whatever. I don´t haunt the idea to use rpf´s for lens blur anymore. I tried LENSCARE and I tried DOFPRO (for photoshop) and DOFPRO is much easier to use and produce almost perfect results. You are able to just use depth maps. So it´s not necessary to make a focal map. You can specify your focus later, you can use it for animations, you can set keyframes and it´s much cheaper.
And for the fog....
(I use it with some semi-transparent particles, like plankton, so I can´t use the standard max fog)
I´ll find a way!
 
Old 11-27-2006, 05:03 PM   #7
nikfaulkner
mucho mojo
 
nikfaulkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 97
i use rpf's all the time in after effects. the trick to get around the no anti aliasing is this........

(please bear with me, i'm doing this from memory as i'm not in front of my main machine)

i use lightwave for this but it should work in any software

1- render your scene as normal with no rpf data (i tend to use the png format)

lets say we're rendering PAL 16.9 square pixel (1024 x 576)


2- turn off all lights, fog, shadows, textures and anti aliasing etc in your 3d scene and set your camera to be

twice the size as the original render (2048 x 1152). then render this out with the rpf data. your images should be

black and take hardly any time to render but still contain depth data.


3 - load up after effects and set your comp to be the same size as your colour render(1024 x 576) then import your

rpf sequence and place it on the timeline. shrink this down so it fits your comp (this is now antialiasing the rpf

data, clever huh?)

4 -right click on the rpf sequence in your project window then on "set proxy" then "file". choose your colour

sequence.you should now have the colour sequence on your timeline useing the 3d data from the now anti aliased rpf

file. phew

5- i then use the depth of field and fog effects in the 3d channel group under the effect menu.


easy as that


n
 
Old 11-27-2006, 05:05 PM   #8
nikfaulkner
mucho mojo
 
nikfaulkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 97
Red face

..........

Last edited by nikfaulkner : 11-27-2006 at 05:07 PM. Reason: whoops double post
 
Old 11-29-2006, 06:39 PM   #9
Wurzelsepp2000
PRO
portfolio
Patrick Mueller
3D Character Animation & Visualization
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 170
Hehe, ok. I know the trick with the double size. But the last one I heart of was to render your WHOLE scene in double size. And that´s definitely not possible. But only using the 3d data from rpf and split the color data from it using png, tif or whatever is a good idea.

I´ll give it a try. For fog effects... I´ll still use DOFPro for the depth of field effects! Too good to let it get dusty

(Holy crap, I hope my english is good enough to let you understand all the things I wanna say)
 
Old 04-08-2007, 08:22 PM   #10
Blabberlicious
Frequenter
 
Blabberlicious's Avatar
portfolio
Steve Williams
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikfaulkner
i use rpf's all the time in after effects. the trick to get around the no anti aliasing is this........

(please bear with me, i'm doing this from memory as i'm not in front of my main machine)

i use lightwave for this but it should work in any software



n



I do this all the time. Depth maps aren't alaised. Also render then 16 bit, if you want to get maximum adjustment for use as cheap bur, etc.


Out of interest, what do you use to get motion/light data in/out of LW & AE?
__________________
Steve Williams | digifreak character workshop
 
Old 04-08-2007, 08:22 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.