Sketchbook Thread of Zephyri

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2006   #1
Sketchbook Thread of Zephyri

Well, I hadn't started an anatomy thread, as I actually thought I wouldn't have much to fill it with, then once I finished my OFDW 11 work, I collected all my stuff together and good grief... anatomy and figurative art in general seems to be all I do.... O.o

So here's my anatomical diary, as it were. Some background info: I studied art upto A level standard in the UK (upto the age of 18) and gained a grade D (A being the highest). After that, I left school and got a job as a minaturist, painting 1.5" x 1.5" paintings which were sold in america, which was a really good grounding, as I painting everything and anything. The job killed any enthusiasm I had for doing my own art.
After 3 years doing that, I moved onto a graphic design job which I'm still in now, and my desire for art really began about 6 years ago after leaving the miniaturist job. My art education, it seems, taught me very little of use, so most of what I know now is self-learnt through books and looking at tutorials, and others artwork. I started dabbling with digital a couple of years ago, and only started seriously when I decided to enter the master and servant contest here on CGTalk. My aspiratiosn are to one day make a living doing the sort of art I love, which is figurative and fantasy mostly, and I harbour a secret ambition to be an animator but suspect I lack the patience.

And now onto the art!

Some of my OFDW pieces to date:

Old 02 February 2006   #2
And some of the many, many gesture drawings I do on a weekly basis, as a way of loosening myself up, and I also find a lot of inspiration in these.

Old 02 February 2006   #3