CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2006, 10:19 PM   #1
georgedrakakis
iconpoet
 
georgedrakakis's Avatar
portfolio
George Drakakis
architect
iconpoetry
Thessaloniki, Greece
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
help plz! can scripts work with render settings?

hey to all c4d scripters!!
first of all, i must confess that although i've downloaded SdK help i didn't got time to do my "homework", and go through all the available commands.
i am so new to the scripting proccess, and i would like to know:
a) if i can render a scene twice in a row with two different settings, using script(s) controlling different Gi settings, save solution options, resolution, save image options.
or
b) if i can switch two already configured render settings, and render the scene twice in a row.
or
c) with one of the above "scenarios", if i can render all the camera views, and save the image files according to the camera object name.

that would be a great help for me,
please let me know if anyone is interested to co-work with me, i promise to do my homework!!
thanx in advance!!!
 
Old 02-16-2006, 10:37 PM   #2
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,712
well, according to the COFFEE documentation you can get the active renderdata using BaseDocument::GetFirstRenderData() then Set using BaseDocument::SetActiveRenderData(renderdata)

the render data itself is stored as a basecontainer that you get/set as you woudl with any other basecontainer in cinema.

you should in theory be able to set the flag for the active camera through GetRenderBaseDraw() see the entry for that in the COFFEE docs

and finally rendering can be done a number of ways, either by using CallCommand to call therender button, or using messages (i'm not sure if there's a straight renderdocument command within coffee itself, so you have to do things those ways).

of course if your'e not talking scripting, but talking C++, then yes of course you can do all of that, and probably slightly easier and with much more control.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 02-16-2006, 11:08 PM   #3
georgedrakakis
iconpoet
 
georgedrakakis's Avatar
portfolio
George Drakakis
architect
iconpoetry
Thessaloniki, Greece
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
wow, this is what i call a quick response!
tnx a lot, mdme_sadie!
i'll keep in mind your suggestions, and give it a try!
i'm so happy cause now i've got something to start with!
i hope i can get it done and finally post a tut about radical redusing render times especially using Gi settings.
tnx again!
 
Old 02-16-2006, 11:08 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.