CGTalk > Techniques > Animation
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2006, 06:03 PM   #1
zenigeva
Veteran
 
zenigeva's Avatar
portfolio
David Y Kim
Animator
Activision
Los Angeles, CA, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to zenigeva
playblasting fcheck vs quicktime

having had issues with quicktime 7, i switched to fcheck to playblast animations, but noticed that even if playback is set to 24 fps, it actually hovers around 23.70 and 24.15 fps. Is this a problem for checking animation with sync sound?

The problem I had with QT7 was that it seemed to be off very slightly compared to QT6, by around 1 or 2 frames, which is enough to make animating subtleties to sound a headache, if not impossible. So, Im concerned that this might be a similar thing with fcheck, especially if im blasting animations that are longer.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Live every week like it's Shark Week
 
Old 02-16-2006, 09:25 PM   #2
Animonster
Veteran
 
Animonster's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Lindsay
3D Artist
VMAX Consulting
San Antonio, United States
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to Animonster
Windows media player

I usually use windows media player and I have found it is more accurate...just for playblasts. If you are using a mac for 3d stuff and only have quicktime...I'd say get a new computer.
__________________
Jason Lindsay
3D Artist / Animator
 
Old 02-17-2006, 12:10 AM   #3
zenigeva
Veteran
 
zenigeva's Avatar
portfolio
David Y Kim
Animator
Activision
Los Angeles, CA, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to zenigeva
if youre using windows media player, how are you supposed to scrub / step frames?

i sort of found a good workaround...
right now i got media player classic going (open source scrubbable video player that looks like the old school windows media player), with a script called ev_QTplayblast that allows me to define a player for maya only, as opposed to using the windows default avi player. works pretty well. so, i can now use that for maya, and get QT7 going for itunes and stuff like that where accuracy isnt so much of an issue.
the ideal situation for me would be if i could figure out how to have both QT6.5 AND QT7 installed on the same machine, and have 6.5 open for playblasts, and 7 for other stuff. dont know if thats possible though.
__________________
Live every week like it's Shark Week
 
Old 02-17-2006, 12:10 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.