CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2006, 08:29 AM   #1
Glenfx
Jack of all trades
 
Glenfx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Glen Fernandez%2BSardi
Artist
2 Sin Par
San%2BAntonio%2Bde%2Blos%2BAltos, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 681

Renderman For MAYA

Hi, I will be working for a publicity company as a character modeler for the next 3 months and i noticed they just have Renderman for Maya.

I spend my break playing with it.... it seems quite common IMO (i still personally prefer maya's software render or mental ray.)

SO, i would like to trully test the renderer and see why everybody talks so highly of it. But i have no clue on what should i pull or settings to try so i can have a good understanding of the thing.

I found a couple of renderman tutorials, but it seems they are quite different from the maya version.
I played with the odd settings from the render menu but they dont give too much room on setting things, i also noticed there is a basic renderman shader but Coudnt find a way for my lights to cast shadows or an object to work as a light source...etc.

Anyone knows where i could find some tutorials about it?
Thanks
__________________
'If you wait until everything is perfect before you take that first step, you will stand in place forever.'
 
Old 02-13-2006, 12:08 PM   #2
alredha
Frequenter
 
alredha's Avatar
portfolio
Reda Alouache
3D & VFX Generalist
BlinkStudios
Dubai, United%2BArab%2BEmirates
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 247
renderman tutorial

for renderman tutorial go to this url www.maxschoenherr.de dont worry it's a greman sit but it's in english
 
Old 02-13-2006, 02:26 PM   #3
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,577
Awesome link, thanks!
 
Old 02-15-2006, 04:50 AM   #4
Glenfx
Jack of all trades
 
Glenfx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Glen Fernandez%2BSardi
Artist
2 Sin Par
San%2BAntonio%2Bde%2Blos%2BAltos, Venezuela
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 681

O_O oh my GOD!!!, I was testing renderman again today, and the result is simply Amazing.
With only 3 quick simple lights and i got a WAY FAR better render than all the hassle i go trough setting up the lights to have a desent result.

First renderer i see that trully renders the materials as they where supposed to be and amazingly FAST.

The bad part will be when i finish my modeling work with the company T_T.

How am i going to live without it??? ^^. Ill definitively will save money to purchase this.
TOO amazing to pass it up. It just became a MUST for me.


BTW: thanks for the links... although not renderman tutorials, it shows what it can do.
__________________
'If you wait until everything is perfect before you take that first step, you will stand in place forever.'
 
Old 02-15-2006, 05:16 AM   #5
neuromancer1978
RenderMan Junkie
 
neuromancer1978's Avatar
portfolio
Ted Gocek
Madison, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 609
Well it may not be Renderman for Maya, but Liquid comes in a very close second. I have never used Renderman for Maya, so I can't tell you how much it compares, but it's free.

http://liquidmaya.sourceforge.net/

Also since you need a renderer there are 3 good packages to choose from...
Aqsis - http://www.aqsis.org
Pixe - http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~okan/Pixie/pixie.htm
3Delight - http://www.3delight.com/

They are free, 3Delight is free for single non-commercial license. Aqsis and Pixie are both Open Source. I use Aqsis and Pixie all the time, and even though I cannot say that any of these are better than PRMan - they come close (you just can't beat the best).

Also since you are probably used to creating shaders in a GUI, here is a tool that can help generate Renderman shaders.
Shaderman - http://www.dream.com.ua/thetool.html

Plenty of help forums as well... just Google 'Renderman' and a whole world of info is out there.

This is the best option you have, and best of all you don't have to spend a dime to get it! Grant you it may be harder to use than Renderman for Maya though. Again I haven't used it.

Hope this helps you out.
 
Old 02-15-2006, 05:16 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.