CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2006, 09:34 AM   #1
bravmm
Expert
rob wu
3D Animator - Post Production
NL
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 746
GridIron question, masters and slaves....

Hi All,

After getting no respons from the boys themself, I'm trying my luck here...

We have several AE workstations running at our office, and depending on the workflow and people, machines are randomly used. In addition to this I have some renderslaves in the serverroom I would like to add in the mix.

After reading the gridiron manual I'm a bit confused about the following. You can install Gridiron as a workstation or slave setup. But with our mix 'n match situation this is a bit of a problem. I want to sit down behind any one of the available AE workstations (master), and have all other available (at this time) pc's running AE(renderengine) and Gridiron to participate in the renderjobs (slaves). We're not "stuck" on fixed locations for several tasks. Also a lot of software is running on floating licenses, so it doens't matter where you sit down....

Do I understand the manual incorrectly, or is this a limitation within our present workflow and the use of Gridiron.
I would like to give Gridiron a go, but don't feel like running in circles due to limitations.

cheers,

rob
 
Old 01-24-2006, 04:52 PM   #2
payton
Technician
 
payton's Avatar
Tobias Pfeiffer
VFX Editor
PIXOMONDO
Stuttgart, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 340
Send a message via MSN to payton
hi bravmm,
the difference between workstations and render nodes is that render nodes will startup "afterfx.com" as a process when booting. this ensures that ae is opened when a renderjob comes up and the time to load ae is saved.

install x-factor as workstation on everymachine that are people working on. so no ram will be lost while they are working. only install as dedicated render node on machines which are renderslaves (no monitor, keyboard...) and wont be used by artists.

good luck,
payton
 
Old 01-25-2006, 02:53 PM   #3
bravmm
Expert
rob wu
3D Animator - Post Production
NL
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 746
Hi Payton,

Thanks for the reply. I will have a reread of the manual and give it a go....

cheers,

rob
 
Old 01-25-2006, 02:53 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.