OT: Vray VS Maxwell

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2006   #1
OT: Vray VS Maxwell

Just found this. The registration is free

http://www.treddi.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16020

Old 01 January 2006   #2
I notice that the little back room (on top of the stairs) is not illuminated in any of the Vray tests. Also, the light on the floor is more yellow on the Vray images. Does anyone know how to remedy for those two matters ? (I am new to Vray)

Thanks

Old 01 January 2006   #3
Originally Posted by ThomasAn.: I notice that the little back room (on top of the stairs) is not illuminated in any of the Vray tests.

It is, but not as much. And the vRay shadow shapes are a bit more rounded. Otherwise, the illumination is remarkably similar. I also noticed the yellow right away. It does not seem to make the bounced light look different as you would expect if the sunlight were more yellow.

That guy has put some serious time and effort into those tests.

Thomas--are you a Cinema user, or did you stumble in here because of the thread title? We C4Ders are not on the list (yet?) of vRay connected persons.

Old 01 January 2006   #4
Originally Posted by Ernest Burden: are you a Cinema user, or did you stumble in here ...

Yeah, I am in the wrong place... the topic came up in a Vray search. I am too green on vray so anything helps.

But I think the illumination is different... the back room and yellow light bother me quite a bit... However, Vray is very flexible ... there should be a way to remedy this. I suspect possibly to boost the multiplier for the secondary engine to about 1.5 or so. I have noticed in my tests that Vray light falls off faster than expected. (...and it has not to do with gamma adjastment).

Anyway, sorry for interloping.

Old 01 January 2006   #5